Maybe I should just quote Matthew Goode’s character

January 6, 2010 at 12:14 pm (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , )

Because, in the trailer for Leap Year, he says, “That’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard.”

And he’s absolutely, totally, utterly right.

What’s the stupidest thing he’s ever heard? It’s some sort of stupid superstition that on Leap Day, women can propose to their boyfriends. When I heard that was the conceit for the movie, I became slightly puzzled.

Wait, I said to myself. Aren’t we MODERN women now? Hasn’t it been okay for the lady to propose for AGES?

Not that I would know for certain or anything, but still. I’m pretty sure we can if we want to.

Anyway, Amy Adams is adorable. Adorable! She’s just so cute! I want to hug her and give her lollipops! So many lollipops!

More lollipops than this!

And Matthew Goode, whom I have never heard of before now — although he was apparently Ozymandias in the Watchmen movie, which, wow, you really stood out or not — is appropriately attractive and snarky.

I mean, gosh, I just had no idea, you know?

“That’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard.”

God, you’re so right, Matthew Goode’s character!

But through a series of crazy mixups and whatever (and Amy Adams is soooo cute the whole time, like little animals come up and try to perch on her shoulders, so cute), they end up posing as a married couple. And falling in love.

Who's a cute widdle actress? It's you! It's you!

I guess I should mention that he’s not the boyfriend she was going to propose to on Leap Day. Like the stupid movie ads: there’s Amy Adams (and god, she’s sooo adorable, squee!) and there’s Ozymandias (allegedly), and it says, “Anna planned to propose to her boyfriend on February 29th. This is not her boyfriend.” Hey, stupid movie poster, they’re just standing there. Not even touching! He could be some random dude who was like, “Hey, there’s a camera … is that Amy Adams? I’m going to stand by her and see what happens.”

I hate this poster more than most movie posters, and that's saying a lot.

Also, if you were thinking of going to see the movie anyway, because you’re like, “Hey, I like rom-coms, even if you don’t, Lokifire, you wretched, bitter thing,” keep this in mind:

The trailer gives everything away. I mean, you actually see the moment where Amy Adams (awwwww!) is at the airport with Adrian Veidt (really?) and all of a sudden her real boyfriend comes springing up and proposes.

I mean, you don’t see her decision, but, look, unless you’re 3 years old and also blind and living in a cave on the moon with your fingers in your ears, you know which guy she’s going to end up with.

Also, I question the decision to play the Decemberists’ O Valencia in the trailer, because isn’t that a tragic song? And isn’t this a happy rom-com movie? The hell?

So that’s a big fat whatever to Leap Year, although I am heading to the mail right now with a big bag of lollipops addressed to Amy Adams, c/o Hollywood. She’s just so damn cute!

Awwwwww!

3 Comments

  1. Steve Green said,

    The trailer does indeed give away every plot point bar the final five minutes, and even includes footage of John Lithgow which ended up on the cutting room floor. Pity the rest of the movie didn’t follow it.

  2. Pat in Colorado said,

    Yeah, but how do you feel about Amy Adams?

Leave a Reply

