There’s something about that guy

January 21, 2010 at 12:30 pm (Top Ten) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

A specific quality I look for in my famous people crushes is “Is this guy prettier than me?” That takes a lot of doing, of course, as anyone who knows me will testify that I am quite the looker. (No photographic evidence will be provided.)

This opening paragraph gives me an excuse to insert a photo of Takeshi Kaneshiro as the perfect example.

Any excuse will do.

But there’s some guys out there who … well, just ain’t pretty. Some of them aren’t even all that tall, which is another trait I look for.

Which gives me an excuse to insert a photo of the 6’5″ Kyle Secor.

He's good-looking anyway, but knowing he's 6'5" really kicks my tall-guy fetish into gear.

Right, right, moving on to shorter, less pretty guys, I present you with a list of 10 of them!

Huzzah!

1. Simon Pegg. Yes, we’re all aware that recently, I’ve found Simon Pegg to be very, very hot. But if I’m honest with myself, which, we all have to admit, I rarely am, Simon Pegg is not actually all that hot. Except that he is. It’s like a paradox or oxymoron of some sort. I don’t know.

Simon Pegg serious, Simon Pegg laughing. I would ravage either one.

2. Adam Baldwin. Adam Baldwin is the opposite of pretty. He’s growly, he’s scary, he’s built like a brick …house! And every time he shoots at people or punches them in the face, I giggle like a schoolgirl. A schoolgirl with a gigantic crush on Adam Baldwin.

And he cleans up good. Yes he does.

3. Jackie Earle Haley. Yeah, so, Jackie Earle Haley, huh?  Jackie Earle Haley is shorter than me. He’s shorter than me! (By a quarter inch, but still!) And one of the best things about him playing Rorschach was that he was exactly the right shade of ugly. (I mean this as a compliment, Jackie Earle Haley! I love you!) Anyway, he’s mysteriously hot. It’s probably the whole Rorschach thing, I don’t know.

Yeah, I've used this photo already, but I really like it.

4. Eric Elbogen. (Of Say Hi.) Hey, it’s a musician! His lyrics make me laugh, and he seems to be about as geeky as I am. But he’s no (insert hot musician name here, because I can’t think of any), am I right?

What is it about this photo? The bondage? The disembodied feet? Eric Elbogen, you are so hot.

5. Bruce Campbell. Bruce Campbell is hot because he’s Bruce Campbell. That is all.

I mean, c'mon, guys! Bruce Campbell! Being Bruce Campbell is, like, his superpower!

6. Timothy Omundson. I watch USA’s Psych for two reasons: 1) to see how many pop culture references they can make in one minute; 2) because there’s something about Timothy Omundson that makes me feel all squishy.

Plus, his character likes to shoot things! People and things!

7. (Nonpuffy) James Spader. James Spader, in his prime, was geeky, thin and pasty. And soooo sexy, right, ladies? I can’t even watch Boston Legal these days, and not just because it looks like a horrible show.

It was more the sleepy eyes than the hair, though.

8. Kyle MacLachlan. One of my very first posts at this here blog was a faceoff between Agents Cooper and Mulder. Mulder came out ahead, but only just. I love you, Coop.

And Coop loved his coffee.

9. Speaking of the X-Files, Mitch Pileggi! Don’t ask me either, but he totally is, all right?

And did the series ever resolve whether he was good or evil?

10. Britt Daniel. This Spoon frontman is a musician, much like Eric Elbogen, except he’s skinnier and blonder. I don’t know what that has to do with being a musician, but whatever. What makes him hot? He is the frontman of Spoon. That’s so hot.

Despite having a girl's name, Britt Daniel just oozes sex appeal.

7 Comments

  1. Lew Zealand said,

    It took me a while but one day I realized Omundson was the evil goatee-sporting bad guy on Jericho.

    Also since you mentioned Pileggi I’m obligated to plug “DayBreak”, one of the best “cancelled way too early” shows ever. You can get the whole series on DVD for five bucks at Target.

    • lokifire said,

      DayBreak….
      Day…Break….
      Nope, never heard of it.

  2. maxiemain said,

    You’ve just made my day! Simon Pegg, Psych, and Takeshi Kaneshiro all in one website. You’re my new favorite!

  3. Nadiyah said,

    James Spader on Boston Legal was still great looking and acting until the last few seasons of the show when the years caught up to him and he really let himself go. I saw him on an episode of The Office recently and the aging factor has finally taken hold. Poor thing . Hair’s gone, in front overweight, bleary eyed.. He makes 70 some year old William Shatner look like a hunk. Sorry, James. I still love you,though.

    • lokifire said,

      That makes me very sad.
      Poor, poor puffy James Spader.

  4. m said,

    I cannot believe Omundson is on the ‘less pretty’ list.

    INSANITY. PLAIN AND SIMPLE.

    • lokifire said,

      Hey, I might suffer from my mental issues here and there, but he’s got funny ears.

Leave a Reply

