A love letter to Takeshi Kaneshiro’s character in House of Flying Daggers

February 11, 2010 at 6:58 pm (I Propose to Fictional Characters) (, , )

As part of Valentine’s week, I propose to the main character of my favorite romance film, House of Flying Daggers, which is my favorite romance because it has lots of sword fights, killing and Takeshi Kaneshiro is in it.

Dear Takeshi Kaneshiro’s character in House of Flying Daggers,

Please marry me.

I know we’ve got some obstacles to overcome here, but they’re not insurmountable. I mean, sure, the woman you fell madly, passionately, deeply in love with just died a horrible death, but I’m OK with being your rebound girl. In fact, I’m more than OK with it. I dream of being your rebound girl, Takeshi Kaneshiro’s character in House of Flying Daggers.

Gods, and it was TRAGIC, and I WEPT, and I am here to PICK UP THE PIECES, Takeshi Kaneshiro's character in House of Flying Daggers.

And sure, I can’t remember your name, Takeshi Kaneshiro’s character in House of Flying Daggers, but you know what else? I can’t even speak Chinese, except for nihao, which I’m probably pronouncing wrong anyway. If you were really Takeshi Kaneshiro, Takeshi Kaneshiro’s character in House of Flying Daggers, it wouldn’t be an issue, as one of the many languages you are fluent in (I love you!) is English, but I can only assume that you, Takeshi Kaneshiro’s character in House of Flying Daggers, are fluent in just the one.

Unless kick-assedness is a language, because you totally did that! In this film!

But we can work around that.

I have faith.

Faith and a Chinese language dictionary. Well, actually, I’m lying. I have a Japanese dictionary, but I could easily purchase a Chinese dictionary, and I would do it, Takeshi Kaneshiro’s character in House of Flying Daggers, for you. For you.

I can't guarantee I would actually use it, though.

I guess I should mention that I probably wouldn’t let someone stab me in the heart for your love, unless they snuck up and did it before I had a chance to react.

Actually, I'd've probably died back in the bamboo grove, so I guess I wouldn't have to worry about the whole stabbed in the heart thing.

But this isn’t a post comparing me to Ziyi Zhang’s character in House of Flying Daggers. Which is good, because I come up short on so many levels. So. Many.

For instance: limberness. She's totally got me beat there.

*Ahem.* No, this is a post wherein I list the reasons we would make an excellent couple.

I love beautiful people. You are a beautiful person. We were meant to be.

I believe I’ve already mentioned them both:

Willingness to 1) be your rebound girl

2) buy a Chinese language dictionary

On the whole, that’s it. We might as well just admit it now: you’re far too good for me. But if you’re willing to settle, I’m willing to (see above).

Call me!

8 Comments

  1. Things I can’t compete with « Hollywood Hates Me said,

    […] Ziyi Zhang. Put me up against the talented Chinese actress and, for some reason, I always come up lacking. But […]

  2. anoym said,

    I love Takeshi, too. He is so handsome. And i love his role in Kamisama moe sukoshi dake… cry* I want so see more Takeshi’movies :((

  3. Gina said,

    Your posts are hilarious. My love of Takeshi Kaneshiro brought me here. This devotion is paying off so well.

    I’ll come back often.

    • lokifire said,

      Awwww! I’m happy that your love of Takeshi Kaneshiro has brought us together. Just one more wonderful thing that Takeshi Kaneshiro has wrought.

  4. SafireRayne said,

    His character’s name in the movie was Jin.

  5. Kyra said,

    Hai have you met Takeshi Kaneshiro’s character in Chungking Express? wouldn’t you be willing to be his rebound girl too?

    • lokifire said,

      I saw that movie AGES ago and can’t really remember much of it, but I’m sure I wouldn’t mind being his rebound girl, too.
      What with him being Takeshi Kaneshiro and all.

  6. Chris said,

    Thank you soooo much for your letter to Takeshi Kaneshiro’s character in House of Flying Daggers – it made me laugh and cry at the same time. You are a woman after my own heart.

    (Maybe we could plan a double ambush on the man?)

Leave a Reply

