Why you gotta be ruining Det. John Munch, SVU?

April 13, 2010 at 3:06 pm (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now) (, , )

I love Homicide. It was one of my favorite shows. I loved it even more than original flavor Law & Order, which I loved a lot at the time (and also Jerry Orbach and Sam Waterston, luv, luv, luv!!).

God rest your soul, Jerry Orbach, you played the snarkiest detective ever.

There's something sexy about a man who is that into justice.

One of my favorite characters was Detective John Munch, as portrayed by Richard Belzer. Actually, that’s not entirely accurate. Everybody was one of my favorite characters, except for some later season additions who everybody can agree totally sucked. But from seasons 1 to about 5, I loved everybody.

Also Det. Munch.

DEEE-Tect-ive Munch. Deee-TECT-ive Munch.

Oft-married, bar-owning, “Do I look like Montel Williams,” guest-starred on the X-Files Munch.

What a great character! What a great guy!

So, I have to ask: What the hell, Law & Order: SVU? What. The. Hell.

You took a fun and interesting character and made him “The Jewish guy.”

Seriously, that’s all I’ve ever seen Munch do on SVU. Say something that reminds everybody he’s Jewish. That, and be freakishly thin. Richard Belzer is freakishly thin.

I mean, I know the SVU writers are awfully busy, what with ripping all those cases from the headlines and making sure we know what Staebler and the pretty one are up to, but can’t they spare a moment to make Det. John Munch awesome again? Just one moment?

OK, they're both more traditionally beautiful than Richard Belzer, but COME ON!

Please?

Or at least do something so I care about the original again?

6 Comments

  1. Aktiv8 said,

    I’m sure the writers will go somewhere with that…they first need to make sure that everyone in Oklahoma remembers he’s one of the Chosen People and then they can extrapolate into some richer storylines…you hope. It could also simply stem from the tendency of formerly oppressed peoples to overdo the cultural pride thing when given a platform…but hey…can you blame them?

    Maybe “The Munch” also has a verse from the Torah tattooed on his arm. You guys could bond 😉

    • lokifire said,

      Me and Munch, BFF!!

  2. Kid Sister to a Comedian said,

    If Captain Cragen makes one more “mistake.” he might be running the department! But what a way to lose Dan Florek. hmmm.

    • lokifire said,

      Gosh, I feel kind of bad, since I totally posted about SVU, but I have no idea who Captain Cragen is.

  3. James said,

    I also loved Homicide.. I can’t think of a better television show in the history of TV.

    What the hell did SVU do to Munch those bastards.

    DO I LOOK LIKE MONTEL WILLIAMS.

  4. Kyle Secor is my dream man « Hollywood Hates Me said,

    […] of Homicide, to counteract the effects of Law & Order: SVU marathons and the way they have absolutely ruined Det. John Munch. And as I’ve been watching old episodes of Homicide, I can’t help but remark to the […]

Leave a Reply

