A love letter to Isshin Kurosaki

May 6, 2010 at 3:23 pm (I Propose to Fictional Characters) (, , )

Dear Isshin Kurosaki (otherwise known as “Ichigo’s dad from Bleach”),

I have to admit, it wasn’t love at first sight.

But can you blame me? I mean, early on in the series, you were just comic relief. Sure, every once in a while you’d say something wise that made your son sit back and take a meaningful look at himself, but then you’d follow that up by blowing on a whistle shaped like a chicken.

(Really, Isshin, who has whistles shaped like chickens?)

A specific kind of pervert, that's who.

But then, boom!

My heart was struck by a love arrow.

Sure, it took 20-odd volumes, but you got me. Donning your shinigami uniform and cutting down an evil spirit with your blade, you got me.

You were just so badass, Isshin.

You were that guy who puts a bomb in a trailer and then walks away from the trailer and then, when the trailer blows up behind him, doesn’t look back. You were that guy who has a gun in each hand and shoots different people with each one of the guns, all while his hat is tilted rakishly on his head. You were that guy who foils a supervillain and then makes a pun, and not even a bad pun, a good pun! You were that guy who just slayed (slew?)… You were that guy who either slayed or slew an evil spirit with his awesome sword and then you were all like, “ah, shucks” about it.

Your hand casually in your kimono ... for some reason.

Wow.

“Holy shit, Ichigo’s father is a Soul Reaper!” I cried, because the English translation calls shinigami Soul Reapers which is actually a lot less badass than death god. “That’s so cool!” I cried, and then I did a little dance, which involved a lot of motion with my feet and a little fist-thumping, but hardly any hip action. (It just didn’t seem appropriate for the occasion, you know?)

And that’s when I knew: This is love.

Is this love that I'm feeling? Is this the love that I've been searching for? Is this love or am I dreaming? This must be love, 'cause it's really got a hold on me.

So, Isshin Kurosaki, I hope you consider this my proposal to be your wife. I think I would make an excellent addition to your family, as I am completely fine with half of you being death gods and fighting evil spirits.

Go, Team Kurosaki!

Hell, Isshin, I’m more than fine with it.

It’s just so goddamned cool.

Call me!

Leave a Reply

