Minions are all right by me

July 7, 2010 at 10:54 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) ()

I think Despicable Me has enough trailers that you don’t actually have to see the movie. It’s had television spots (even on The Biggest Loser, proving there is nothing my darling Jillian Michaels won’t sink to, and I love her for it). It has permeated pop culture since, what, February?

Hell, this poster was released in November.

I’m not saying it looks bad, per se. I’m saying it feels like I’ve already seen it.

Television spots, trailers, minion waffles at IHOP? Doesn’t it feel like you’ve already seen this too?

Plus: waffles? This movie isn't actually an Aunt Jemima biopic, is it?

There’s building viral excitement and then there’s giving everything away. And I’m not sure the trailers and televisions spots and waffles actually give everything away, but it feels like they have.

I mean, there’s just so many of them. We’ve been inundated. It feels like this movie was released three months ago and someone forgot to tell the person in charge of the marketing campaign.

Hey, who wrote "summer" there? We started screening this in March!

So I’m not saying don’t go see this movie because it will be bad, because it actually looks pretty cute and funny, and I want to give each and every minion a head noogie, yes I do, those cute widdle guys, awwwwww.

Coochie coochie coo! Coochie coo! Awwwww!

You are just so cute! Yes you are! Yes you are!

I’m just saying you’ve already seen it. Deep in your heart, you know you have.

Yes, somewhere in the deepest recesses of your cold, black heart, you know.

Leave a Reply

