So what’s the big deal with Dante’s Inferno?

July 7, 2010 at 10:31 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now) ()

I just don’t understand why everyone is so enthralled by Dante’s “masterwork.”

Sure, people holding their own decapitated heads is cool and all, but that's not what the book was really about, you know?

He put his enemies in hell and made the unattainable woman of his dreams an angel. So, basically, he wrote the world’s first fan fiction.

Although when I write, the object of my desires is usually a ninja, not an angel, but you work with what you know.

9 Comments

  1. wolfgar veirott said,

    ive read the latin-italian version and the translated version up untill a little after he passes purgatorio into paradiso. there is no mention of a woman. thats the video game which changed the story line. he is not a templar either. his writting is unique and beautiful/morbid and horrifying. its a horror themed work that incorporates alot of political undertones which was a huge deal and straight jab at those incorporated in it at the time it was written. which is why most like it so much. it was the first kind not to be banned as a heresy for the content of it was so touchy and painted such a vivid picture of hell. which at the time most would have considered it to be the work of a devil worshiper if he hadnt added the obviously hatred and sorrow for those damned to such woe. and he himself being a congonized writter / poet anyway. in all it is a truely one of a kind work and his poetry if read in pure form or direct translation is also one of a kind.

    • lokifire said,

      I love that your comment is longer than my post, but I still hate The Divine Comedy.
      And keep reading to learn about Beatrice instead of assuming I got my information from a video game, bub. The whole damn Paradiso section is an ode to Beatrice, a woman he knew who died young, and so he put her up on a pedestal and made her his heavenly guide.

    • nr davis said,

      well said

    • nr davis said,

      Well said was for wolfgar

      • lokifire said,

        Oh, good, you can both be practically illiterate together. Kudos!

  2. mnhanson said,

    I wasn’t so interested in Purgatorio or Paradisio, but I love his descriptions of hell. I remember reading “Abandon all hope, ye who enter here” and getting chills. It gets so bizarre, too – the screaming suicide bushes, and the City of Dis, and the devil is up-side-down with his feet embedded in ice! That’s the type of creepy I aspire to.
    Of course, I realize that it’s not supposed to be relished for its spook factor, but I care not. The work’s flaws, Dante’s intentions, I’ve heard that before, and while some of those arguments may be perfectly valid, my response is this: that minotaur is fucking badass. The end.

    • mnhanson said,

      Also – yes. Yes, it is essentially the first fan fiction, with the bible as its source material. This is fact, and it made me lol.

      • lokifire said,

        Wow. It’s nice to get a comment on this post from someone who’s actually familiar with Dante. And can spell minotaur.

  3. ishikawaa said,

    My mama so dumb!
    How dumb is she?
    She so dumb! Um, me too.

Leave a Reply

