So, exactly how long is Cillian Murphy in Inception, anyway?

July 14, 2010 at 5:47 pm (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , , , )

Because my desire to see this film is entirely dependent on that one piece of information. If the answer is “Not very long at all,” then I definitely don’t want to see it. If the answer is, “Actually, he’s the star, I don’t know why they wasted all that time in the trailer on Leonardo DiCaprio, to whom time is doing no great favors, looks-wise,” then I might maybe could want to see it.

Yup, that’s where things stand. Balanced on the sharp, sharp ridges of Murphy’s awesome cheekbones.

(Gods, they’re awesome, aren’t they?)

I could, and wholly intend to, write odes to the perfection of Cillian Murphy's cheekbones.

Sure, the special effects are pretty stunning, which is good, because if you’re setting a movie in dreams, they had better be, because whose dreams follow the law of gravity? Or is it laws of gravity? Whatever.

Oh, if you guys didn’t know, Inception is the new movie from Christopher “Memento” Nolan “The Dark Knight” … um … Nolan again.

Nice use of slant rhyme there, poster.

It’s about people who break into dreams for some reason. I didn’t actually follow much of the trailer, actually, because I was like, omigod, it’s MICHAEL CAINE I love that guy and where’d he go?

Don't tease me with Sir Michael and then take him away, damn you!

Why is Ellen Page there instead?

Here's a picture of Ellen Page. I think she played Shadowcat once.

What happened to Cillian Murphy and his cheekbones?

What did I say about TEASING me, you sonsuvbitches!

Why can’t I believe that Joseph Gordon-Levitt is older than 19?

He's going to be one of those guys who looks like he's 12 forever, isn't he.

So I wasn’t actually following boring, boring and slightly flabby Leonardo DiCaprio very closely.

Or would "puffy" be more apt?

And I apologize for that. Really, I do. I truly intended to go into this anti-review knowing what this movie was about.

But how can you stick Cillian Murphy in a trailer AND NOT LET ME KNOW HOW LONG HE’S IN THE FILM?

It’s just not fair.

9 Comments

  1. RubyRoses said,

    I love you. I was watching HBO’s first look, and had a spaz because none of the trailers I’ve seen have shown Cillian…and I immediately thought “god if he’s in this for more then a few minutes then I must see this in theatres”. Either way it’s a rental/buy. God..and his eyes…or damn…just his whole damn face…

    • lokifire said,

      I know! He’s like beauty personified. You just can’t not look at him.

      • RubyRoses said,

        Right. I bought twenty-eight days later like twice..just because he wasn’t wearing any pants for the few seconds..so worth it.

  2. greg said,

    I think the plot involves going into Cillian’s mind, so….in a way, it could be a good long bit of the movie? I think.

    • lokifire said,

      But can you see the cheekbones from the mind? That’s my concern.

      • greg said,

        I’ll let you know after I see it tonight. đŸ˜‰

  3. greg said,

    Well, I’ve seen it, and I can say that Cillian Murphy and his cheek bones appear pretty integrally for at least the last third of the movie (and the movie’s over 2 hours long). Plus, it’s a pretty damn good movie.

    • lokifire said,

      OK, for 1/3 of the movie, I will probably rent it someday.

  4. I finally saw Inception! | Hollywood Hates Me said,

    […] course, it wasn’t quite as exciting to watch as it might have been if I’d seen it back when it came out, or even back before Pete Postlethwaite (God rest your talented soul, sir!!) died, or even before I […]

Leave a Reply

