What have I got against Will Ferrell?

August 5, 2010 at 11:37 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , )

So, The Other Guys. That opens this weekend.

And I think we should all be grateful it's not in 3D like that stupid dance movie.

It stars one of the Wahlbergs. Marky-Mark, I think, and not the one in the New Kids on the Block, because it is still the 1980s in my brain, and that is where my references come from, dammit.

I think the whole "Marky-Mark" thing has really stuck over the years because of all that time he spent shirtless.

It also stars Will Ferrell, and that just makes me annoyed.

God, that look on his face is so annoying!!

Teeth-grindingly, gut-punchingly annoyed.

And I don’t know why.

It’s not like Will Ferrell is bad at what he does, because he’s actually pretty good at that deadpan I’m-not-in-on-the-joke thing. He’s also decent at the over-the-top physical comedy, and it’s not like he’s pushing himself to be something he’s not. You know? He’s a comedian who acts. He knows that. Hollywood knows that. He’s got a niche carved out, that’s cool.

So why does he just annoy me so much?

This is a really flattering picture of him, and you just can't imagine how annoyed that makes me.

It’s kind of like my irrational hatred for that one guy.

Is it the bowler hat? Do I hate this guy because once he was on Firefly and wore a bowler hat, even though I never watched Firefly? What is it?!

I can’t explain it, I can’t control it, I just feel it with every single fiber of my being. And I’m sorry for that, Will Ferrell. I’m sure you’re not a bad guy. Hell, you’re not even a bad actor! (OK, I’m just saying that. I’ve never actually been able to watch one of your films. I apologize for that. It’s just that you drive me nuts.)

(I’m waffling here, aren’t I? I’m waffling.)

I like waffles.

Anyway, The Other Guys opens this weekend. I’ve heard Will Ferrell overacts in it. I’m not surprised.

Oooooh, and you know who else is in it? Batman. (1980s Batman.)

Leave a Reply

