Scott Pilgrim vs. the review

August 12, 2010 at 11:19 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , )

So, me? Not a big fan of Scott Pilgrim.

Nifty little bomber jacket or not.

I couldn’t understand it for the longest time. After all, all my friends liked it, and we all like Akira too. (Right, you guys? You like Akira too, right?) And then I finally figured it out: I’m a girl.

And why shouldn’t I love Akira? And Kaneda? Mostly Kaneda?

(Yes, I know that’s a news flash to the commentors who say I’m envious of Channing Tatum’s chest rather than lustful of. Or is it Tatum Channing? Shit, I can’t ever remember that guy’s name.)

Anyway, me: girl.

Scott Pilgrim: boys’ fantasy.

In a band? Check. Dating a chick who’s out of his league? Check. Gets a flaming sword? Check.

I’m probably the worst girl at being a girl ever, except for the lusting after hot actors thing and hating sports, I’m pretty boy-ish. Action films? Love them. Comic books? Adored! Video games? Errr, actually, they’re too complicated for me, but I’m sure if I had the time and the inclination, I would love them. Ladies? Think they’re gorgeous.

Especially when they look like Yvonne Strahovski. Mrow!

So why don’t I like boys’ fantasy Scott Pilgrim when I like Invincible and Chew and Arsenic Lullaby?

Because Scott Pilgrim hasn’t got zombie fetuses?

Because it’s the wrong kind of boys’ fantasy for me. Seriously, I have actually sat down and thought about this. (I was at work, so it’s OK.) Scott Pilgrim is the kind of comic book where two female characters (one of whom has a crush on Scott Pilgrim for some reason) get drunk and make out for no other reason than that’s what boys wish girls would do always. And that’s fine. It’s a boys’ fantasy book, I get that. It doesn’t mean I have to enjoy it, though.

That said, the stupid trailer looked really awesome and funny, probably because it is directed by the guy who directed one of my favorite love stories ever and the saddest zombie movie ever. (I don’t care what you people say; Shaun of the Dead is not a comedy. So! Tragic!!)

I hope you two are really happy together.

So now I kind of want to see it, and that really pisses me off.

Stupid awesome trailer. Hate you so much.

2 Comments

  1. greg said,

    Well, I’ve seen it twice, and it’s tons of fun!

    • lokifire said,

      Of course you have.

Leave a Reply

