Child actors freak me out

September 29, 2010 at 10:40 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , )

So, the Americanized remake of the Swedish film “Let the Right One In” looks pretty cool. Sure, people who saw the original film are anti-remake, but it was a Swedish vampire film. How many people could’ve possibly seen it, you know?

And don't bother sending me notes saying "I watched it." I'm talking people who count.

The American version is called Let Me In, and it’s directed by that guy who did the giant monster attacking New York City movie that wasn’t Godzilla or Jurassic Park. So that’s cool, I guess.

Wait -- THIS is the monster from that movie? Wouldn't gravity have kicked its ass?

Anyway, the trailer is an eerie thing, shot in all these muted colors and with some sort of metal song playing in the background, which doesn’t turn me off any, so that’s also, I guess, cool.

Oh, and it's a vampire romance, because THAT hasn't been overdone lately or anything.

But then you’ve got the stars.

Is it just me, or is Kodi Smit-McPhee one of the scariest child actors you've ever seen? Also, didn't anyone tell his parents putting an "i" at the end makes it a girl's name?

If I see Chloe Moretz in a dark alley, EVER, I am shooting first and asking questions later.

And that’s when I decided no, no, perhaps not.

I mean, even when they're just standing there pretending to be regular kids, there's something a little off.

5 Comments

  1. Travis said,

    Kodi is pretty creepy looking… especially in that last photo. Egads! Chloe was pretty great in KICK ASS however.

    • lokifire said,

      Hey, just ’cause the kid’s a good actress doesn’t make her any less creepy.

  2. Natalie said,

    I LOVED the Swedish version, it was so creepy! And I thought the monster in Cloverfield was really cool and original even though the movie was only okay. Hit Girl is awesome and I love her. I don’t know if it’s a good thing or a bad thing that my future daughter would probably be like her. But I can’t wait to see her in this movie. Miss you!

    • lokifire said,

      Hee, it’s OK if you liked the movie, Natalie.

  3. jussara said,

    He´s so cute.;)

Leave a Reply

