Sometimes, I hate humanity for stupid reasons

October 14, 2010 at 5:41 pm (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

“Years young” is a phrase that has always annoyed me. For me, it’s the visual equivalent of someone scratching their fingernails on a chalkboard.

Oh, look, here's the ACTUAL visual equivalent of someone scratching their fingernails on a chalkboard. Also: you all just imagined the sound it will make, didn't you?

And it’s even worse when the person being described as “years young” is really, really godsdamned old.

Screw you, Grandpa. You're old.

10 Comments

  1. dangerousmeredith said,

    I had never heard ‘Years young’ before now. It IS stupid, isn’t it?

    • lokifire said,

      I envy you, dangerousmeredith. People in Australia must not talk like jackasses.

      • dangerousmeredith said,

        No, we’re a bunch of dags instead. Or nuf nufs. I love the phrase nuf nuf. Do you have it over there?

      • lokifire said,

        If we do, I’ve never heard it. Please enlighten me! Nuf nufs sounds awesome.

  2. Jamin said,

    i dunno, it never bothered me before. but then again, most of the people i’ve heard use that phrase before were charming/sweet old folks.

    • lokifire said,

      Well, try doing the obituaries for a week and see how often you come across that phrase. Believe me, it does the opposite of “grow on you.”

  3. dangerousmeredith said,

    a dag is a dork, but the word has almost affectionate overtones now. It’s not so derogatory anymore. A nuf nuf is someone who is stupid and hopeless. For example when I tell people that I’m a technological nuf nuf they know that I’m hopeless with computers and suchlike

    • lokifire said,

      Cool beans! Thanks, dangerousmeredith. I’m totally going to try to use nuf nuf in everyday conversation now.

  4. Terry said,

    A pet peeve (not “the” pet peeve) of mine is when people address a date in the manner of “October the 3rd”. What’s so pretentious about a number that you need to douchify it by assigning it with the “the”? I get that there is only one 3rd of October in any given year, but there are other October 3rds, and there are 3rds in every month. October 3rd will suffice. Keep it simple, stupids!

    • lokifire said,

      Hee! That annoys me too. But not, apparently, as much as it does you.

Leave a Reply

