Tron Legacy is so shiny and pretty, omigod

December 15, 2010 at 12:42 pm (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , , )

Shiny! Pretty! Oooooooh!

For the things Tron Legacy got right, I can forgive it for the things it got wrong.

For instance, it got right not casting Shia LaBeouf as Sam Flynn. Even though I’ve never heard of Garrett Hedlund before, I really appreciate that he’s not Shia LaBeouf. That’s great news. Just great!

For an actor, not being Shia LaBeouf is even more awesome than not being Keanu Reeves.

Also, they got Jeff Bridges back, who is awesome.

Ooooooooh!

Also, the special effects are great. So shiny, squee!

Shiny!

And Olivia Wilde is totally beautiful.

And she has one of those light-up disc things.

As far as the things they got wrong, only two things stood out for me:

Young Jeff Bridges just doesn’t look human enough. The good news is, Young Jeff Bridges is a computer program or whatever, so he doesn’t have to look all that human, so it’s OK. Although still a bit creepy.

Please let this not become a thing for all movies that want to cast aging actors as their younger selves, please, please, PLEASE.

Olivia Wilde is an awfully wooden actress, but I think in this case, that will work to her favor, like Keanu Reeves’ wooden performance as Neo in The Matrix. So it’s also not a big issue, but I just can’t forgive her for ruining House for me, so I thought I should mention it.

Gah! You House-ruining ... so. Pretty.

So, I forgive you, Disney, for ruining every fairy tale ever because I like shiny things.

So. Shiny.

2 Comments

  1. Travis said,

    That young Jeff Bridges may be the creepiest CGI creation in the history of CGI creations! Olivia is very pretty… but she can’t act worth a fart.

    • lokifire said,

      Yes, she’s very awful. I’m hoping she won’t ruin the film for me the way she ruined House, but we’ll just have to see.

Leave a Reply

