Another missing Twin Peaks alum: found!

December 27, 2010 at 7:25 pm (Whatever happened to ...?) (, , , , , )

So, Sherilyn Fenn, right?

Riiiiiiight.

So pretty, right?

She's got this whole "ingenue" thing going on, don't you think?

And crazy, too, right? I mean, in the “actress who prefers independent films to actually making money” sense of the word. I mean, sure, it’s an art, but what do you do when you can’t afford cocktail wieners, Sherilyn? What do you do then????

Do you sneak into receptions after funerals to get your cocktail wiener fix? Because I've heard that works.

Anyway, Sherilyn Fenn’s career peaked in the early ’90s with her role as Audrey Horne on Twin Peaks. (Because I say it peaked then, that’s why.) What has she been up to since then? Well, to find out, first we need to take a look at her past. (Because I say we do, that’s why.)

I just want you to know that she still looks absolutely awesome.

Fenn’s career began with a role in 1984’s Wild Life, which I want you to know starred Chris Penn, Eric Stoltz and Rick Moranis, making it the most ’80s movie I’ve never heard of. Also, I feel like here is as good a place as any to insert that when she was born in 1965, her name was Sheryl Ann.

Errr, close, but no cigar.

Her next appearance was in the made for TV movie Silence of the Heart, which I think I actually watched at a friend’s house, and is about a guy named Skip who killed himself. Probably because his name is Skip, because who would want to live saddled with that moniker?

She appeared on an episode of Cheers in the ’80s, and was in 1987’s Zombie High as Suzi “with an i.” (I don’t know if she actually ever said that, but you would have to assume she must’ve.) Also in the ’80s, she was an an Afterschool Special (remember those things? Whatever became of them?) And also something called True Blood, which has nothing to do with HBO’s gothic vampire series. Her career plodded along briefly along those lines until boom! David Lynch put her in Twin Peaks. (And her career peaked, as I already mentioned.)

Even if they did throw in some lame romantic subplot for her once it became clear she and Kyle MacLachlan hated each other's guts.

(Actually, he had previously worked with her on Wild at Heart, but since her role was “Girl in accident,” I wasn’t sure if that was worth mentioning.)

Things continued to look bright for Fenn in the early ’90s, with roles in Of Mice and Men and … Boxing Helena, which was Jennifer Chambers Lynch’s directorial debut and possibly her attempt to out-crazy her father.

So you don't waste your time: Apparently, the twist is that the whole thing is a dream and you just watched a movie about a woman getting her legs and arms amputated that didn't actually happen, joke's on you, sucker!

In retrospect, taking that role may have been a mistake, as she followed it up with 1993’s Three of Hearts (not worth explaining) and Fatal Instinct, one of those spoofs that wasn’t as funny as Airplane!. (That’s all of them, by the by.)

For what it's worth, in 1995, she did play Elizabeth Taylor, which I can't imagine is as cool as BEING Elizabeth Taylor, but it's close.

Some TV movies here, small roles on Friends there, until Rude Awakening, a sitcom that ran between 1998 and 2001, and that I have never heard of until just this very moment. Anyway, Fenn starred in that, so bully for her! More TV movies and guest roles followed, including one on Law & Order: SVU in 2002, because CSI: NY wasn’t around yet, I guess, and later one on NCIS, because go to hell CSI: Miami! Also, and I think this is great, she played Dr. Harleen Quinzel in the unaired pilot of Birds of Prey, a role later co-opted by previous Whatever Happened to …? Mia Sara! Worlds collided! Boom!

Maybe they got rid of her because Mia Sara made a better blonde?

In 2003, she was in something called Dream Warrior, which I’m only including because the title makes me laugh a little, and 2004 saw her in a role in the TV movie Mr. Ed. Yes, about the talking horse. She had a recurring role on David E. Kelley’s Boston Public and finally did get that role on CSI: Miami in 2006. Hell, she was even on Gilmore Girls, a show I never watched. She also had a role on House, but by then they were really focusing on that damn Olivia Wilde’s boring character instead of Hugh Laurie, so I didn’t see it.

I don't care how cool the promo art is, you have broken my heart, House, and I refuse to watch you anymore.

And most recently, she was on that episode of Psych that featured the cast of Twin Peaks, and God bless her for it.

We all need to eat sometimes, Sherilyn. Nobody blames you.

2 Comments

  1. Travis said,

    This guy I met via youtube, Eric (he lives in Finland), is a HUGE Twin Peaks fan. He actually went to some sort of TP convention. Right now his facebook profile image is of him with Sherilyn sitting in his lap. 😀

    • lokifire said,

      That is so awesome! Maybe I should go to one and try to get a picture of me sitting in Kyle Machlachlan’s lap.

Leave a Reply

