I had always assumed he was an android, or from the future

January 4, 2011 at 11:49 am (Randomosity) (, )

Or an android from the future.

So I’m late jumping on the “Mourning Pete Postlethwaite” train, but, guys, I had to work! Admittedly, not very hard, but solitaire wasn’t going to play itself, was it? WAS IT?

I submit that no. No, it was not.

Anyway, I’ll always remember Mssr. Postlethwaite for his role in Usual Suspects, and also his many roles in movies that I never saw, but saw him in the trailers and went, “Oooooh, Pete Postlethwaite! I love that guy!” Also for his role in Romeo + Juliet, which I have lately felt nostalgia for.

He is so damned cute in this jaunty cap, I just love him!

Since he hadn’t aged in, like, 40 years, I just assumed he was some sort of perfected robotic acting machine or possibly a time traveler. It never occurred to me that he was a real person who had cancer.

OK, maybe he aged a little.

So, Pete Postlethwaite, I will never be able to pronounce your name correctly, but that doesn’t matter, because you were one of the greats. You will be missed.

I usually say the opposite about most people: The world is worse off for not having you in it.

1 Comment

  1. I finally saw Inception! | Hollywood Hates Me said,

    […] to watch as it might have been if I’d seen it back when it came out, or even back before Pete Postlethwaite (God rest your talented soul, sir!!) died, or even before I read multiple articles telling me exactly what happened. (On a related note, if […]

Leave a Reply

