The Green Hornet actually looks pretty awesome

January 12, 2011 at 6:39 pm (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , , )

Mostly because of Kato. Like the old TV show before it, mostly because of Kato. (I’ve never heard the radio show, so I’ve got no opinion on that.)

There is just something about a man in a mask kicking ass that is just so ....

*Sighhhh*

Doesn't hurt that he looks like this.

Oh, Kato. I love the way you design weapons and use them, and design awesome cars and drive them, and beat people up. In slow motion even! Kato, you are everything I have ever dreamed of, even if you’re not Bruce Lee anymore.

Yeah, it would be too evil for Hollywood even to bring you back from the dead for this film.

And Seth Rogen! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Rogen flick, except for Donnie Darko, apparently, which doesn’t count because HATED IT. So I didn’t know what to expect from Rogen, but he seemed pretty funny, actually, and not annoying at all. It could be because it was just a 3 minute trailer, but I’m willing to give him the benefit of the doubt.

Look at 'im go! Go, Green Hornet, go! (Yes, sometimes captions are hard. Why do you ask?)

(I know, that doesn’t seem like me at all, does it? I mean, he’s a white guy with horribly, dreadfully, awfully bad hair. Why am I not pre-judging him? Is it because of Kato? Does the calming influence of Kato mellow me out that much?)

(Also, I didn’t realize Jay Chou was in Curse of the Golden Flower, or that he is a Chinese pop musician.)

Having done an image search for him, it's now glaringly obvious.

(Seriously, what is it with American martial arts films and Asian pop musicians, anyway?)

Seen here: Korean pop star Rain. It's a conspiracy! A conspiracy, I tell you!

So, yeah, The Green Hornet looks like it probably won’t suck. I blame Kato for that.

And maybe this kick-ass explosion, a little bit.

3 Comments

  1. Terri said,

    “Seen here: Korean pop star Rain. It’s a conspiracy! A conspiracy, I tell you!”

    LOL,

    I do believe you may be right.

    Terri :-}

    • lokifire said,

      I feel I should clarify it’s a good conspiracy, but a conspiracy nonetheless.

  2. JanieD said,

    I actually really liked this film. But that might be just my love for Jay Chou. And Bruce Lee. And Kato.

Leave a Reply

