You know who Fab Morvan is, you just don’t know it yet

January 17, 2011 at 6:15 pm (Whatever happened to ...?) (, )

Well, you do if you’re over the age of … 25? Let’s go with 25, and then I won’t have to do math. Hooray for 25!

To keep you from absolutely choking on your anticipation, I’ll just reveal it now: Fab Morvan is better known as Milli. Or perhaps Vanilli.

Good ol' early '90s and that decade's awful, AWFUL hair.

For those of you under the age of 25 (or perhaps who lived in a cave for a while and missed all the good scandals), Milli Vanilli was a pop act best known for their hits “Girl You Know it’s True” and “Blame it on the Rain.” Specifically, for lip-synching their hits”Girl You Know it’s True” and “Blame it on the Rain.”

Now, I know what you’re thinking, teenaged audience (get off my lawn, you young turks!!), you’re thinking, “Yeah, like, we’ve got that Ashley Simpson and you don’t even know if you’re spelling her name right, and she lip-synched. Or lip-sanch.” Yes, but, teenaged audience, that was at a live performance. Milli Vanilli lip-synched (or sanch) all the time.

But oh boy could they dance.

The tragic story begins with a record company that had some singers, but decided they weren’t hot enough to market. (This was before the Susan Boyle years, when the world discovered normal-looking people could be talented too.) So they went out and found a pair of models/dancers and had them front the band. And then didn’t tell anyone that they weren’t actually the band.

Eventually, everyone found out anyway, and Milli Vanilli went down in embarrassed flames of disgrace. We all know that one of them (that is, if we are 25 or older) died of a drug overdose, but what about the other one? What about Fab Morvan? What happened to him???

And why didn't he go back to modeling, because look at hiiiiiiim!!

Well, before we learn that, let’s learn a little bit more about Fabrice “Fab” Morvan’s past. Except for the part about Milli Vanilli, because I already covered that.

For instance, did you know that before he became a model/dancer/musician (eventually, we’re getting to it, we’re getting to it), he wanted to be a trampoline athlete? I didn’t even know that was a thing, did you? I mean, like a professional trampoline athlete? What is that?

Look, Ma, I'm an athlete!

Anyway, a neck injury caused him to re-think this career path (I like to think he was like, “Ow, my neck — why the hell did I want to be a trampoline athlete anyway? What is wrong with me?”) and he headed to the Caribbean with his musician/fisherman grandpa (apparently, back-slashes run in this family) to work on his music career. At 18, he moved to Germany, met Rob Pilatus and then that stuff I just said that ended in disgrace.

(So, basically, you didn’t really need to know any of that except for PROFESSIONAL TRAMPOLINE ATHLETE, omigod it is a thing!)

The internet thinks it looks like this.

After returning their Grammy awards (ouch), Pilatus and Morvan went on to record albums under “Rob and Fab,” and were supported by their faithful fans. (Which makes me wonder if the singers who recorded Milli Vanilli’s songs went on to release albums under their names and were supported by their faithful fans, but not enough to look it up, so, whatever.) Unfortunately, it doesn’t sound like their faithful fans supported them enough, because their comeback was a bit of a failure.

I don't often say this, but: Put some shirts on. Jeez.

Morvan went onto to perform as a solo artist and have a nine-month stint as a mid-day show host on an LA radio station. Nine months doesn’t seem that long, unless you’re pregnant. Then it seems really REALLY long. To date, Morvan continues to perform and record (quoth IMDb), and he’s “extremely popular on the college lecture circuit.”

10 Comments

  1. dangerousmeredith said,

    I am WAY over 25 so I do remember this scandal. Thank you for letting me know that such a thing as professional trampoline artiste or whatever exists

    • lokifire said,

      Glad to help, dangerousmeredith. It’s fun to learn about professional trampoline athletes.

  2. Grace said,

    Wait I can become an athlete? Pretty much an athlete in FUN? FUN!

    • lokifire said,

      Yes. Just don’t hurt your neck, or then you will be forced into a career as a professional lip-syncher.

      • Grace said,

        Damn. But I can [as people tell me] sing, so either way I’ll probably be good. I now have life-goals, -phew- I was worried for awhile there.

      • lokifire said,

        I wish I had life goals (that were as awesome as being a professional trampoline athlete).
        (I seriously can’t get over this trampoline athlete thing, I’m sorry.)

  3. Shiro said,

    When I was at university there was such a thing called “The Trampolining Society” where people who liked trampolining would spend a few hours a week jumping up and down on a, erm, trampoline.

    It all makes sense now that I know that there is such a thing as trampoline athlete!

    • lokifire said,

      Yeah, no, that totally sounds like a secret sex society.

  4. denverRegenold said,

    Fab Morvan was F-a-b-u-l-o-u-s in DENVER, COLORADO
    You know its True DENVER dude Loves You FAB.
    Hope you visit AGAIN, AGAIN AND again. GREAT SONGS AND GOOD VOICE. You gotta Listen.

    • lokifire said,

      I can’t tell if you’re a real person who loves Denver, or some kind of tourism spambot.
      Good work, then!

Leave a Reply

