Does anyone else remember Mutant X?

January 24, 2011 at 4:50 pm (Whatever happened to ...?) (, )

It wasn’t a great show. It wasn’t even a good show. But it was better than The Cape, because everyone in the cast was pretty.

So very pretty.

And the prettiest of all was Victoria Pratt. Fresh off a stint on Cleopatra 2525 (I know, right?), Victoria portrayed Shalimar Fox, who was, if I remember correctly (and I don’t swear that I do, because who actually cares), a woman with cat DNA.

You can tell, because sometimes they made her wear weird contacts.

That might not be right. All I know is she could leap really high (with the help of stunt wires that you could totally see) and sometimes she meowed. OK, she might not have meowed. I really can’t remember why I watched this show.

Oh, NOW I remember.

Anyway, I lost track of Ms. Pratt after that, until today, when I either called her agent or went to her IMDb page. Or maybe I called her agent and he directed me to her IMDb page.

He said something about "the matrix," too, but I'd really stopped listening at that point.

Where I learned:

She never competed as a professional trampoline athlete, but she has written a book on fitness and bodybuilding. And that kickboxing is her favorite form of exercise. And that her career in television started in 1998 with a series called Once a Thief, which sounds familiar, but probably just because John Woo’s name is attached to it. She then went on to the campy funness of Xena: Warrior Princess for a two-part episode.

In case you were wondering: Yes, that is the most clothing you will ever see this woman wear.

After that, it’s a bunch of stuff I don’t care about, until her role on Cleopatra 2525, which is a show about an exotic dancer who had been put into cyrogenic sleep in 2001 being thawed out to fight evil robots who have taken over the world. I love that because of COURSE strippers fighting evil robots. I feel like I should have watched this show when it was on in 2001, but not so much that I’m living with regret or anything.

I'm not sure which one is the stripper.

From 2001 to 2004, she starred in the aforementioned Mutant X, which was a really, really awful show, and I loved every minute of it.

Who doesn't love a show that casts as many former models as possible?

After that, it was on to some guest roles on TV movies, including one called Kraken: Tentacles of the Deep, which is introduced thusly: “Thirty years ago, Ray Reiter witnessed the brutal death of his parents at sea by a strange, octopus-like creature.” (Possibly an octopus.)

Moving right along, Victoria got herself a role on the ill-fated Daybreak, but at least she got to be near Taye Diggs, who is gorgeous.

Those cheekbones are to die for, I swear.

More recently, she’s had guest roles on CSI and NCIS, but, oddly enough, not SVU, so I guess that might still be in her future. (Hell, she’s even had a spot on that wretchedly awful Lie to Me.) In 2010, she starred in the TV movie Mongolian Death Worm, which only rivals Kraken: Tentacles of the Deep in ridiculously awesome names. Her most recent role is in Soda Springs, which looks like a western about Tom Skerritt, but what the hell do I know.

So there you go. She’s been working steadily and hasn’t even had to resort to teaching video aerobics classes.

Which is more than some of us can say.

3 Comments

  1. Travis said,

    I remember MUTANT X… but mostly because I was working at FOX 4 when it aired. I miss (some of) those syndicated action shows of the 90s/early 00s. MUTANT X was one of the last of those. I think the mini-networks (WB/UPN/CW) kind of killed that fad when they began focusing on genre programming.

    Nobody tried for a while. Then Raimi’s company did that LEGEND OF THE SEEKER in hopes of relaunching these type of shows into syndication, but that didn’t work.

    The one I hated the most during my master control days was the BEASTMASTER series. Holy hell that thing was awful.

    I really loved the theme song to CLEOPATRA 2525. Annoying and catchy at the same time.

    • lokifire said,

      Yeah, a lot of those were campy good fun. I miss them. Never saw Beastmaster, though. Sounds like it’s just as well.

  2. Malcolm Elliott said,

    I remember Mutant X, I have the dvd’s and really liked Victoria Pratt in it also loved her in Cleopatra 2525. I also remember she starred in a movie with Tori Spelling called hush it was about a married man who had to deal with a obsessive former girlfriend moving to his hometown

Leave a Reply

