Did you just finish reading a self-help book, or what?

March 3, 2011 at 2:35 pm (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

A thing that people trying to get me to help them do that makes me even more annoyed than most things is to repetively use my name. Like hearing my name over and over and over AND OVER will make me more receptive to helping them.

I know some self-help gurus recommend that kind of happy bullshit, but I can tell you right now: it annoys.

Now please frak off and never say my name again. Please.

2 Comments

  1. Kelly said,

    Yes. YES! I’ve come to hate the sound of my name even when it’s used as the beginning of a sentence in an email at work. I always thought of it as a power play, a way of trying to assert control…. in any case, it makes me less likely to do whatever it is they’re whining for.

    • lokifire said,

      I know! It feels so condescending somehow.

Leave a Reply

