What was that name again?

March 21, 2011 at 4:26 pm (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

Caller: I’m trying to reach Joy.

Me: I’m sorry, but the number you called is for (reporter whose name starts with a C). Is that who you were trying to reach?

Caller: No, I’m looking for Joy. She wrote an article for your paper.

Me: I’m sorry, but we don’t have a Joy.

Caller: Not Joy. JOY!

Me: I’m sorry?

Caller: JOOOOOOY!!

Me: Joey?

Caller: NO! JOY! J! U! L! I! E!

Me: Julie?

Caller: Yeah. Joy.

Me: We don’t have a Julie either.

Please quit ringing. Please, PLEASE quit ringing.

2 Comments

  1. Travis said,

    When I worked at the station I took a call one day and I could understand every word the guy said except for the NAME of the person he was asking for. I asked him a couple of times “Who?” while scrolling the employee phone list to see if I could match his gibberish with something.

    Then I flat out told him, I understood everything he said but the name. “Quit fuckin’ around dude, I know she’s there”.

    So, then I said “This is a business. Are you trying to call a tv station? Are you sure you’ve got the right number”?

    And that’s why I hated answering the phone.

    • lokifire said,

      Answering the phone is the worst thing that could happen to a person, except for that time I had to clean a bathroom where someone, and I am not kidding you, actually managed to projectile shit onto the ceiling.
      The moral of the story is never be a hotel maid.

Leave a Reply

