The color orange. Also, the fruit

April 11, 2011 at 5:47 pm (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

Why, in all the words in the English language, is there no word that rhymes with orange?

How is that possible? Why has nobody remedied this state of affairs by Shakespearing up a word? (Like I just did, by using Shakespeare as a verb.)

Just think of how much poetry has been ruined, all for the lack of a word that rhymes with orange!

(Well, ruined harder.)

Don't sit there looking so innocent, my etymologic nemesis!

4 Comments

  1. The Usual Suspect said,

    I just use my Poetic License (TM.)

    With a Poetic License, I no longer have to fear unfinished poetry. I just plug in any old half-assed rhyme like “syringe,” and I’m ready for the coffee shop circuit.

    My Poetic License slips easily in my pocket, is laminated, and is respected by English nerds everywhere.

    Poetic License. Don’t epigram without it.

    • lokifire said,

      Slant rhymes don’t count. I call foul!
      What we need is a word like “Chlorange,” which could be a prescription drug, or perhaps the effect chlorine has on your hair.

  2. Travis said,

    I need to invent some kind, ANY kind of product and make sure it has -orange in its name, then that could be the slogan: ___________ RHYMES WITH ORANGE! 😀

    • lokifire said,

      YES! Omigod, do it! That would be supra-awesome.

Leave a Reply

