I will probably have to see X-Men: First Class

June 1, 2011 at 11:20 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , )

Sometimes, it’s nice when a faltering franchise rewards us by putting out a new movie that looks HOLY CRAP COMPLETELY AWESOME.

I'm sorry, but this movie looks brilliant and I can't think of a single snarky thing to say.

I mean, did you see the way Michael Fassbender was doing stuff? Things and stuff?

Stuff and things?

(Seriously, I think you could put Michael Fassbender in a movie extolling the virtues of quilting and wearing traveling pants, and I would be tempted to watch it, because have you seen that man? Such screen presence! Such physical beauty!)

I think I could be happily married to this man's jawline alone.

Oooh, oooh, and then there’s Beast and Emma Frost and Charles Xavier and Banshee and some other X-Men that I really can’t remember their names but they look really cool, and I don’t know, maybe it’s ’cause it’s set in the ’60s, but doesn’t this movie seem really classy to you guys too?

Soooooo retro!

And I love how it makes it pretty clear that, yeah, Professor X is a dick, and he knows it and everyone knows it, and it’s OK because he’s totally got superpowers.

Or cluster headaches. Superpowers or cluster headaches.

Also, the special effects are just gorgeous, and the action sequences, and just everything! I have to see this movie.

And join the Michael Fassbender fan club.

3 Comments

  1. greg said,

    For the longest time, I thought this was going to be an also-ran because some of the first photos weren’t that great. It’d probably be a movie I wouldn’t see in the theaters. But then it started getting a lot of good reviews, and Rotten Tomatoes has it at 98% based off 43 reviews, so welp, I guess I have to see it, now.

    • lokifire said,

      Some of the first photos must not have been of Michael Fassbender, ’cause he’s hot!
      (Sorry. Beating a dead horse.)
      (But he is really hot.)

  2. greg said,

    Alright, I’ve seen it, and it pretty damn good! Was surprised how well they put together the story. McAvoy and Fassbender were perfect casting, though Emma Frost was probably the most boring Emma-Frost-simulation I’ve ever seen. Bleh. Thankfully, she doesn’t detract from too the movie too much.

Leave a Reply

