Kyle Secor is my dream man (albeit one of many)

June 13, 2011 at 10:53 am (Whatever happened to ...?) (, , )

Lately, I’ve been watching old episodes of Homicide, to counteract the effects of Law & Order: SVU marathons and the way they have absolutely ruined Det. John Munch. And as I’ve been watching old episodes of Homicide, I can’t help but remark to the empty air around me: “Man, that Kyle Secor is certainly an attractive man, and also, I love his puppy dog eyes.”

Don't you just want to pat him on the head??

(Also, I had forgotten how much I despise the Megan Russert character. I’m not sure if it’s the way the character is written or how the actress portrays her, but I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that, thanks to her, I now know that Det. Beau Felton wears black man panties.)

I'd always assumed he was a boxers man.

But anyway, Kyle Secor. I was so happy when he was on the first season of Veronica Mars, because I liked the show already, and he was like the whipped topping on the pie or some better simile than that.

Funny, but thinking about whipped topping AND Kyle Secor makes me feel funny inside.

But what’s he been up to lately? Probably something on cable. I should really get cable.

Anyway, let’s fnd out more about our boy (man?) Kyle Secor.

He was born in 1957 and wanted to be a basketball player (the man is 6’5″) and join the Air Force, but he’s apparently quite near-sighted. Later, he saw a performance of Hello Dolly and decided to become an actor, which I guess was the reaction of everyone who’s ever seen that. Oooh, and also he’s trained in karate and kung fu, and is a certified yoga instructor.

I am suddenly possessed of the urge to take yoga classes.

His acting career began with a stint on Santa Barbara, which I believe was a soap opera, and also had Robin Wright in it. Who knew, right? Later, he got a recurring role on St. Elsewhere, also known as “that TV show that was ruined by the horrible, horrible, wretched, crappy ending.”

After that, there were some roles in TV movies that I don’t feel like listing by name, a guest spot on Tales from the Crypt, roles in movies that I know I saw in the ’90s, like Sleeping with the Enemy and City Slickers, but blocked out because ick.

Then in 1993 came Homicide: Life on the Streets, and the role of Tim Bayliss, one of my favorite detectives ever, except for Sherlock Holmes and L and also Lenny Briscoe. I also very much enjoyed his partner, Frank Pembleton.

Does anyone know how to pronounce Braugher? Is it Brower? Bra-er?

Ooooh, and Meldrick Lewis.

Such a snazzy hat, Meldrick!

And Kay Howard.

Man, remember that time she won an Oscar? That was great.

Oh, and John Munch, of course, before he was ruint.

Don't lie to me like I'm Montel Williams. I'm not Montel Williams.

Homicide ran through 1999, which I always forget because NBC kept trying to cancel it, and during that run, Secor picked up a guest spot on NYPD Blue and had roles in more TV movies that I just don’t even want to talk about. In 1999, he took a role on Party of Five, a show I know nothing about, except that guy from Lost was on it, and I think that chick from Ghost Whisperer with the awesome rack too.

Awesome.

Of course, in 2000, he returned to the streets of Baltimore for the Homicide TV movie, which I do feel like talking about, even if the ending was wretchedly depressing, what with Lt. Giardello dying and Bayliss himself confessing to murder. At least it wrapped up the series nicely.

*Sniff* Rest in Peace, Gee!

Also in 2000, he was in City of Angels, a TV show about doctors that didn’t last very long because ER was still a ratings giant then, wrecking the competition like some sort of giant competition-wrecking thing. It also looks like, in 2001, he was on an episode of that show I’m ashamed of watching a few episodes of, but not this one, because I never saw it: Crossing Jordan. From 2001 to 2002, he was on some sort of Kim Delaney vehicle, Philly, which was probably about people in Philadelphia, but possibly about a guy named Phillip.

In 2003, I remember that I watched A Wrinkle in Time the TV movie specifically because Secor was in it as The Man With Red Eyes. I don’t remember much else about it, probably because I recorded it and fast-forwarded to Secor’s scenes because I luv him. He also had guest roles on Without a Trace and CSI, because everyone does those shows if they’re not doing L&O:SVU.

2004 brought his role as Jake Kane on Veronica Mars, the man Veronica’s mother had an affair with, like who could blame her, especially since Jake Kane was also a millionaire.

You can't go wrong if you're dating a millionaire who looks like Kyle Secor.

From 2005 to 2006, he played the First Gentleman (?) in Commander in Chief, which I also thought was canceled immediately. I wanted to love it, because Geena Davis was the president and, of course, Kyle Secor, but I just didn’t. And that’s about the time I lost track of him, because I am the worst stalker ever. Also, I never actually stalked him, just watched him on TV shows of variable quality.

In 2007, he was in two shows I’ve never heard of: Hidden Palms and Women’s Murder Club, which I suspect is about women solving murders and not committing them. Since then, he’s had guest roles on Boston Legal, Dark Blue, Ghost Whisperer, White Collar, The Closer (which has JK Simmons in it too, for an explosion of awesomeness!), Criminal Minds, Private Practice and Hawaii Five-O. (Funnily enough, I just watched an episode of Homicide with Det. Stan Bolander bitching about the state of modern television and wishing they would just bring back Hawaii Five-O. “They have!” I told him, but for some reason, he didn’t seem to hear me.)

I suspect the revamped version isn't what he was hoping for anyway.

His most recent project was a short called The Letter, with Annabeth Gish, which made me go, “Why does her name sound so familiar,” and now I see that she was one of the characters on the X-Files after it started sucking.

Anyway, Mssr. Secor has stayed steadily busy because, in addition to being a dreamboat, he’s also quite a good actor, and I guess I don’t really need cable to watch him, just less discerning taste in television shows.

Gosh, he's just so distinguished and lust-worthy.

6 Comments

  1. mirandaannewang said,

    Thanks for writing this article.
    I like Kyle and your post too. 🙂
    I’m new here.
    Maybe we can be friends?
    Thanks for reading this. ^_^

    • lokifire said,

      It’s so nice to find another Kyle Secor fan. Of course we can be friends. As long as you don’t mind me never responding to your texts.

  2. mirandaannewang said,

    The Internat runs slowly so I can’t log in.
    Anyway,Idon’t mind it at all.
    As long as you reply my comments to your post.
    Glad about our new friendship. 🙂

    • lokifire said,

      Yea! Now we can bond over Kyle Secor.

  3. mirandaannewang said,

    Wow~I’ve logged in. 😄

  4. Margaret said,

    Kyle Secor was fabulous in Homicide and I recently discovered him again on Netflix in Commander in Chief playing the first gentleman. I was so happy to see him again. He’s a great actor. i don’t know why we don’t see more of him.

Leave a Reply

