You say “A-TRAY-you,” I say “A-TRAH-you”

July 18, 2011 at 7:35 pm (Whatever happened to ...?) (, , , )

OK, I don’t really say “A-TRAH-you,” because everybody has seen The Neverending Story, and knows how to pronounce the hero’s name.

I'm aware that Bastian is ostensibly the "hero," but I refute that claim for two reasons. One, if sitting around reading makes you a hero, then I am one for the ages; and Two, his name is Bastian.

But thinking about The Neverending Story lately (and, no, I’m not quite sure what precipitated it, but it’s been on my mind a lot), I started wondering, “Hey, what became of Atreyu? And more specifically, that actor who played him. Young whatsisname.” And then I googled his name, which is Noah Hathaway.

Read on for enlightenment!

Not that kind.

Noah, like all good people, was born at a very young age. His birth year: 1971. His heritage: One-quarter Mohican on his father’s side, which is more Mohican than I am. (But less Ojibwe, so ha ha ha.) At the age of 3, he began appearing in commercials, which is way more than I did at age 3 (I like to call that “the year in which I almost mastered the spoon”), so I guess I’ll stop laughing at Mr. Hathaway now. His first non-commercial appearance was on the 1979 show Supertrain as “Kid.” After some research, I see “Supertrain” is not about the adventures of some sort of 1970s musical supergroup as I first believed, but rather a train in the future. I’m not sure which is better.

I'll have to ask someone from the '70s.

His role as “Kid” must have impressed the brass, because he moved on to bigger and better things: “Boxey” on Battlestar Galactica (Not The Reimagined One, Which Mostly (and rightfully) Excised Boxey). From 1978 to 1979, Noah Hathaway battled Cylons and (I assume) provided comic relief and adorable child moments.

OH MY GOD WHAT IS THAT HORROR HE'S EMBRACING THANK GOD IT WASN'T IN THE REIMAGINED BSG GAHHHHHHHHHHH.

After Battlestar Galactica (The Original) ended, Boxey moved on to a series of guest gigs that hit all the pop culture phenoms of ’70s American television: Mork & Mindy, Eight is Enough, Laverne & Shirley and CHiPs. He also had some roles on miniseries and stuff even I’m not old enough to have heard of.

Motorcycle cops and homoerotic subtext. God bless the 1980s.

Then, in 1984, he was cast as Atreyu in The Neverending Story, worming his way into the hearts of adolescent girls everywhere, and also some guys who have some sort of postmodern metal-core band or something. That’s some good work, there.

In the 1980s, it was OK to see this much boy chest.

After The Neverending Story, it was on to the ’80s and guest spots on shows like Simon & Simon and Family Ties.

Later, he played Harry Potter (Jr.) in Troll. I don’t remember this movie at all, but I do remember this one episode of the Twilight Zone or Amazing Stories or some other TV anthology show where there was a troll and the construction workers tried to steal his gold or something, and then sunlight killed him.

Why, yes, as a matter of fact, being trapped underground with a maneating troll IS another of my ridiculous phobias. Also, I'm terrified of these dolls.

Moving right along, Noah Hathaway had two more roles in 1986 and then disappeared until 1994, when he played “Phil” in To Die, To Sleep. He then re-disappeared, and then re-reappeared in three roles in movies that haven’t been released yet: “Fish” in Sushi Girl, “Roper” in The Critic and “Ruggero Margheriti” in Mondo Holocausto!, in which the exclamation point is not mine.

Of COURSE it's set at one of those naked sushi joints. Why are you even asking?

So what the hell has Noah Hathaway been doing in between then and 1994 and 1994 and now? In the late 1980s, he moved on to teaching advanced jazz and street dancing, until an injury forced an early retirement. So he moved into the much less injury-prone sport of Muay Thai boxing. So that takes care of his life up until 1994.

After this shot was taken, they were all rushed to the ER.

After 1994, he took up motorcycle racing (seriously, who told him this stuff was safer than advanced jazz dancing?) and holds black belts in Tang Soo Do and Shotokan, two martial arts disciplines which I am learning about for the first time. He also runs a motorcycle shop and a tattoo parlor with his wife.

And I have to admit, his arm tattoo is more impressive than mine.

So, there you have it. Busy, busy, busy.

Also, his horse died.

11 Comments

  1. jeremyhrussell said,

    Fight against the sadness Artax!

  2. Jamin said,

    God… I’ve always hated that kid. Also Boxey. Also, he looks like a total D-bag.

    • Jamin said,

      Forgot to mention my hatred for Robo-Dog, also. Although, i did have a Robo-Dog action figure when i was a kid, and it was pretty cool. Always thought he looked more like a brown Robo-Sheep, though.

      • lokifire said,

        Robo-Dog. Excellent. Now I know the name to give the gods I pray to when I ask for its complete and utter anhilation. Crap. Anhillation? Why can’t I spell that? Is it all the gin?

  3. E said,

    Ojibwe…cool. I always wondered what contributed to your exotic looks but thought it rude/racist to ask.

    • lokifire said,

      I’m part black too, but can totally pass for white. Thanks to my white (never met) father, I actually looked OK as a blonde for three years of college.

  4. E said,

    Well, it makes no difference to me either way. And I apologize if something I said years ago made you think otherwise.

  5. chelsea zen-lewis said,

    1st Artax didnt die cuz if u watched the film Bastian sees atreyu riding artax before entering the real world. 2nd he is starring in a new film called Blue dream

    • lokifire said,

      Sorry, Chelsea, but Artax dies when he gives in to the sadness of the swamp of utter depression or whatever. Also, all of Fantasia is destroyed. But then Bastian wishes it back into existence. So it all comes back, including Artax, but he was definitely dead prior to that.
      And I’m sure whatsisname is starring in a new film called Blue Dream, but he wasn’t back when I wrote the post, so thanks for the update.

      • dmims said,

        Yes artex did die in the film, but I think what they were referring to was a rumor started online that the horse actually drowned on set. That turned out to be false, but the actor noah Hathaway did almost drown in that shot. His foot got caught under the elevator that raised and lowered the horse and he was unconscious by the time the got him to the surface. Those were the good ol days before cgi when actors would put themselves in risk at times to get a good take. Anyway, great film that captures my childhood memories and Noah Hathaway has a vvery interesting ” where r they now?” Story. He is super nice too. I met him several times at tattoo expos cus he was working the booth next to mine and honestly I had no idea he was atreu for the first feq times we hung out, until someone brought in a laserdisc of the never ending story for him to sign. He does look like a doucher , but a real nice dude.

  6. ash said,

    Just got done rewatching both movies. I love them!

Leave a Reply

