Reasons I don’t care about the impending DC reboot

August 23, 2011 at 7:16 pm (Top Ten) (, , )

It’s a Top Ten list! I know you’ve missed them.

I don’t care about the impending DC reboot because …

1. It’s been a long time since all the good writers left DC for Marvel. Some of them came back eventually, sure, but — eh — I’m reading Morning Glories now.

I feel like a lazy reviewer for saying this, but it's totally Breakfast Club meets Lost.

2. After being unemployed most of the summer, there’s only so many comic books I can justify as a monthly expense. There’s … Chew and Morning Glories.

Yes, just the two.

3. It’s a simple matter of shelf space. If I’m getting all these new DC comics, where will I keep Morning Glories?

"Storage" is the wrong answer to that question. Also, it was rhetorical. Shut up.

4. Yeah, Superman’s new costume is silly.

Yeah, you know who wears jeans and Superman tee-shirt? My ex-boyfriend wears jeans and a Superman tee-shirt. I mean, if they'll let him while he's in jail.

5. Even if it doesn’t suck, it couldn’t possibly be as good as they’d like us to believe.

Unless they really did manage to get Lego Alan Moore to do the writing.

6. Now that I’m working again, I don’t have as much lesiure time as I did this summer, and I’d really rather use it re-reading Morning Glories for clues.

What's better than two hot Japanese twins in a comic book? The correct answer is "two hot Japanese twins in a live-action television series." Get cracking, TV.

7. I still don’t care which one is Green Arrow and which is Green Lantern.

I tried to care, for Ryan Reynolds' sake, but I guess I just didn't try hard enough.

8. I want to annoy all those guys that come into the comic book store asking me if I’m as excited as they are.

Short answer: No. Slightly longer answer: Sod off.

9. Besides, when they eventually reboot the reboot, who’s going to give me back those years (months?) of my life?

10. I’d just like this opportunity to recommend Morning Glories to you. Really. It’s quite good.

Also, I can totally relate to Hunter and the way he never gets the girl of his dreams. And has some sort of weird clock-related superpower.

4 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    Why, pray tell, have you not recommended Morning Glories to me before? Hmmm? HMMMMMMM?!?!?! Also, Lego Alan Moore is awesome! 🙂

    • lokifire said,

      Hey, I’ve only seen you once since I started reading it. I’m sure I meant to recommend it, but it probably slipped my mind.

      • Jamin said,

        Curse you and your reasonable excuses! I guess i should stop by more often…

  2. greg said,

    There’s this blog where a bunch of indie artists drew covers to their versions of the DC reboot, some of which are awesome and should happen. http://dcfifty-too.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

