Why did I like Sherlock (so goddamned much)?

September 28, 2011 at 11:18 am (Randomosity) (, , , , , )

So, my friends who recommended the BBC series Sherlock will be happy to learn that I finally watched the first episode. And it was exactly as good as they said, if not better.

I never knew that London had a big ol' Ferris Wheel in the middle of it.

For those of you who didn’t recommend Sherlock, here’s the gist: Take Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, toss ’em in the 21st Century and call it a day.

And then they run through the sewers or something!

I know. Doesn’t sound like it should work, does it?

But it does. Oh, how it does.

For Sherlockians such as myself, there’s all sorts of fun little tidbits, like: “It’s a three-patch problem” and “I’m not his date.”

And most importantly, they got Holmes right. (I am glaring in your general direction, Guy Ritchie.)

If I could just master the look of death, he'd be a smoldering pile of ashes right now.

I mean, sure, I’m the first to complain when Sherlock Holmes is attractive, and Benedict Cumberbatch is awfully attractive. But he plays Holmes so ugly. It’s just brilliant.

I think I'm a little bit in love with Benedict Cumberbatch now.

When another character calls him a psychopath, he’s offended.

“I’m a highly functioning sociopath,” he sniffs.

Ladies love a highly functioning sociopath that dresses this nice.

God, that’s so right!

And then everyone thinks Watson and Holmes are a couple, because of course they do! There is such a chemistry and a bond between the characters that what else could you think? There’s even a fun little bit where Holmes thinks Watson is coming on to him and he turns him down politely, because he’s “not interested.” Nor is he interested in dating women, thankyouverymuch, show!!!

Holmes has ALWAYS loved Watson the most, and that's just how it is.

The mystery itself was interesting, with a string of suicides that are actually murders that are actually suicides, and the name Moriarty is dropped. Also, Watson shoots someone and is awesome.

I have to say that I enjoy a more proactive Watson.

Speaking of Moriarty, they totally tricked me with the whole Mycroft thing, because I was like, “Oh, well, that’s clearly Moriarty because Mycroft Holmes is fat,” and then later, Holmes is like, “Have you gained weight?” and I was like “You fooled me!”

So, anyway, yeah, I loved it, but I did have a few complaints:

1. Holmes and Watson kept calling each other “Sherlock” and “John,” because I guess we go by first names in the future, but it just seemed unnatural to me. I’ll have to suck it up and get used to it.

2. The music was a little too “creepy carnival in town” for me, but we can’t all be Bear McCreary, I suppose.

3. I figured out who was behind the murders before Holmes did. And it was something so obvious that I just wanted to slap him when he gave upย the lead so quickly because he had made a wrong assumption. I’m not smarter than Holmes. I don’t want to be smarter than Holmes. I’m only letting this slide because (I’m hoping) Holmes’ giant ego had such a hard time accepting he was wrong that when the solution was right in front of his face, he was flummoxed.

4. At the climax, when Holmes sits down with the murderer, who offers him the choice of two pills, Holmes just assumes one is poison and one isn’t. I kept thinking: “Haven’t you ever seen the Princess Bride, Sherlock? For goodness sake.” But maybe the killer hadn’t either, I don’t know.

Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line.

So those were my main issues with the show, but everything else was just so perfect and right that I can let them slide and eagerly wait for evening, when I can watch the second episode.

15 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    Dang, now i wanna watch this. Wonder if i can stream it on Netflix…?

    • lokifire said,

      I would bet you can. I just went ahead and ordered the DVD set for purchase, so I’m glad I liked it as much as I did.

  2. jennibennyfan said,

    Hi, I’m totally obsessed with Sherlock, too (beautiful Benedict *grin*). I’m German and season 1 was aired this summer on tv. Since that I’m thristing for season 2. ;D
    I understand what you mean with “they got Holmes right”. Saw the Guy-Ritchie-movie and just didn’t know why this should be a Sherlock-film. I mean Sherlock’s character is totally different (going by Arthur Conan Doyle’s originals) and what was this Irene Adler/Sherlock Holmes romance thing?! Anyway, the BBC got him damn right and Benedict’s acting skills are brillant. And I love the drug bust scene. I mean: “Anderson, don’t talk out loud, you lower the IQ of the whole street” — so funny and well written. ^^
    Don’t wanna spoil, but on the DVD is a pilot from episode 1 (bit different from the final tv ep.), in which Benedict looks very cute.
    So have fun watching it. Bye ~

    • lokifire said,

      Oh, I know, I just hate hate HATE when they throw in a love interest. ESPECIALLY Irene Adler, who Holmes only ever said he admired, not loved. Screenwriters just can’t seem to believe that Holmes just is a big fat old misanthrope, I guess. They feel like they have to have some heartbroken past for him or something.
      Which is why I loved Sherlock so much. No tragic past, just a crazy guy who likes to solve crimes. Brilliant!
      Thanks for reading.

      • jennibennyfan said,

        Yes, and in the AC Doyle story, Irene Adler is a married woman; so I don’t know why everyone have to put any romantic interests into the story. Well, of course, I know why women could have such interests in Sherlock (especially in THIS Sherlock) but as he said: “Not really in his area”! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • lokifire said,

        Hee!
        I took a peek at your web site, and I’m sorry, I can’t read German (or speak it even!), but your artwork is beautiful.

  3. jennibennyfan said,

    Thank you! If you wanna comment on my site, your welcome! (Even in English, haha ^^) I just thought wheather I should translate some posts into English as well, because only less people can read it and “Sherlock” is a global phenomenon. ;D

    • jennibennyfan said,

      So, it’s done. My first translated post is online. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (But don’t look to closely on the grammar ^^)

      • lokifire said,

        Believe me, your grammar in English is MUCH better than my would be in German.

  4. jennibennyfan said,

    ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    It’s nice to talk to another Sherlockian. ^^

  5. Chelsified said,

    A study in pink was modeled after ‘A Study in Scarlet’ the first Holmes story Doyle wrote. In the originals Doyle keeps you guessing through Watson, while Sherlock usually always a few hundred steps ahead than everyone. I think the BBC might have tried to make it so that the viewer could figure it out, and so that Holmes didn’t seem so secretive.

    But it might have also seemed easy because you read the original.

    As for the pills, in A Study in Scarlet, the cabbie has two pills, one of poison, and one of sugar. Lestrade gives these pills to Sherlock who continued to feed it to Watson’s dog. (Who was so sick Mrs. Hudson PLEADED with John to put him down) But nothing happened. Frustrated, he examined the pills by holding them up to the light, and is thrilled by what he sees. He then feeds the other pill to the dog who passes within seconds.

    So, to answer your point, he knew one wasn’t poison for sure when he examined it. I bet he’s even titled a blog entry “27 ways to tell harmful drugs from household products” ’cause he’s like a freaking expert on everything. Except astronomy. he’s shit at astronomy.

    Oh, just thought I’d tell you that I got linked here stalking Sherlock photos and proceded to read your ENTIRE blog (Well, up to this post) So sorry for the old post that is old, but I got so excited to find someone so utterly OBSESSED as I am with everything Holmes and everything Benedict. Cause he’s a sexy beast, he is.

    • lokifire said,

      Truth be told, I always kind of block out A Study in Scarlet because of the boring, BORING midsection. So I’d completely forgotten that the cabbie had two pills. Also that he was a cabbie. (I re-read it shortly after watching Sherlock, though, and I was like, “Oh, right, now I remember.”
      My complaint about it being too easy was as soon as Holmes and Watson caught up to the cab and realized it wasn’t the tourist, I knew it was the cabbie and Holmes didn’t. And he really should’ve.

  6. Andrea said,

    If you watch the unaired pilot he’s a bit less of an idiot, and doesnt give up right away!!

    • lokifire said,

      I did watch it, and I was like, “Now that’s more like it.”
      Clearly, they had to make him a bit stupider to stretch out the episode that aired.

  7. Linda said,

    I think we could figure it out before Sherlock did because we had the advantage of the musical sound track ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

