God saw I was getting tired of this poem

December 6, 2011 at 1:27 pm (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

A funeral poem that’s been bugging me more than usual lately is that “God saw he was getting tired and a cure was not to be, etc., etc., a big fat blue monkey.” (That’s not how it really goes.)

And why, praytell, has this poem been bothering me more than any of the other funeral poems that I must face?

Well, it’s because of that last bit: “God broke our hearts to prove to us He only takes the best.”

Hey, poet, you know that everybody dies, right? So does that mean everybody is the best? Or is the ending of your poem implying that there’s a lot of people who are going to be burning in hell?

So, yeah, it’s been bugging me.

"Oh, yes, it's definitely that second option." -- signed, the poet

2 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    Ugghhhh… any time someone says “God needed another angel” or something similar, if there’s ANY justice, God will kill an angel while kicking a puppy.
    I have literally stormed out of funerals when people use that asshole line.
    I could go on, but i won’t…

    • lokifire said,

      Heh. Yeah, I’ve got a whole list of things people aren’t allowed to say at my funeral/put in my obit. I’ve already told everyone if that “God Saw She was Getting Tired” poem is anyone near my dead body, I’m coming back as a zombie and eating a lot of brains, because obviously, you people weren’t using them anyway.

Leave a Reply

