The movie I didn’t see last weekend

December 23, 2011 at 10:45 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, )

You know, I think I’d really like to see A Game of Shadows. Or I mean, I would, if Guy Ritchie would just go ahead and name the character something else because THAT’S NOT SHERLOCK HOLMES.

Oh, I know what the poster says. But the poster is a lying liar who lies.

(I know. Some of you thought I’d gotten past this, didn’t you? Well, I haven’t. And I won’t. And I never will.)

I mean, sure, Holmes is a badass to end all badasses, and, yes, I can buy that he would defeat any adversary with a gun, a cane or his bare hands, but the whole thing is still just off somehow and, for that, I can’t forgive Guy Ritchie.

I've got no problem with Robert Downey Jr., though. I could never hold a grudge against the beautiful people.

So, yeah, I might’ve gone to see A Game of Shadows because it actually looks pretty cool, and I love seeing Robert Downey Jr. beat people down and be all dapper. And Jude Law is still handsome, ridiculous moustache or no. But it’s not a Sherlock Holmes movie, no matter how much it claims to be.

16 Comments

  1. jennibennyfan said,

    Well, I’ve seen it. I went to the cinema with modest aspirations. And what can I tell?! Guy Ritchie has managed to undercut it. It was really predictable and – as you said – it just WASN’T a Sherlock Holmes.
    But have you already seen the 2nd season of the BBC series? It is much better than the first one! No kidding! I died while seeing it. 😀

    • lokifire said,

      Haven’t seen the second season yet! I don’t even have basic cable, so it’ll be a while before I can get my Sherlock fix.
      But it’s been renewed for a third season, so I’m already excited!

      • jennibennyfan said,

        What about webcast? There are streams in nearly perfect quality on http://www.dailymotion.com

      • lokifire said,

        Ooooh, maybe I’ll check that out this weekend!

      • Mathew said,

        watch it online. if you go via watchseries.eu, and choose the link of gorillavid you get great quality .

  2. jennibennyfan said,

    You really should. And don’t forget the tissues for the last episode. 😉

    • lokifire said,

      I appreciate the warning. I heard it was heart-wrenching.
      Damn you, Moriarty!!!

  3. Mathew said,

    I saw the movie, and I don’t agree with you. I”ll agree without a doubt in my mind if you had said the BBC serie Sherlock was better. because it was far better. But I liked the movie, it wasn’t your classic Sherlock with the deerstalker and stuff, but Robert Downey Jr. played his mad genius character real well. plus in multiple books Sherlock has shown his fighting skills, so enyone who says it’s B*llsh*t Sherlock can fight is a idiot ( no offence). I do agree the slo- mo was overused, and the guns where a little to over the top in the movie, but over all it was a good movie, Harris payed brilliant professor Moriarty, genius and a real professor. But it’s not your classic Sherlock, they do as they promised, they brought a new kind of Sherlock on screen. Maybe you like it maybe you think it’s not really Sherlock. Either way I recommend: go see the movie, the chemistry between Robert and Jude Law alone is worth it, a solid Moriarty and a decent , maybe over actioned, storyline. Though I have one complaint about the film, the scene were mycroft ( stephen fry) is nude is unnecessary and stupid, It has nothing to do with the story.
    This is my opinion, please tell me if you think differently but keep it polite and please don’t buttsh*t me that I am not a real fan.
    I”ve read all the books, watch the BBC serie, love Sherlock and know my classics.

    • lokifire said,

      Well, I’m glad you liked it, but there’s no way I could’ve gone to see it without screaming that Sherlock Holmes doesn’t kiss people what’s up with the kissing why the kissing AGGGGGHHHHHHHH!
      But some people don’t overreact as much, I guess.
      *Tsk*
      How can you live like that, all well-balanced and stuff?

  4. Mathew said,

    I know it’s boring, but it keeps me sophisticated, and keeps me from turning into a troll.
    ( you should see my wall, my housekeeper is so mad at me XD)
    ( have you seen the bbc serie, then you”ll get it).
    But I generally thought it was a good movie, not the best Sherlock ever, but still a better movie then the rest of the crap the call movies lately, and then the re-makes , don’t get me started.
    One re-make were I really thought they shouldn”t have used the name was the A-team. it was a oke movie ( it had to be liam neeson was in it) but they should’t have called it the A-team, it didn’t had the a-team feel to it. It was a oke movie to watch though, I watched it with my little brother. He didn’t care about the name to much, he saw the A-team series a few times but couldn’t be bothered that the name was the same

    • Mathew said,

      btw, nice name Lokifire.
      You know your norse mythology, sexy 😉

      • lokifire said,

        Norse mythology is sexy.

  5. Buddy2Blogger said,

    I actually liked this movie. I felt Jared Harris made a superb Moriarty and Jude Law is always great as Watson.’

    Cheers!

    • lokifire said,

      You could have just ended the sentence at “Jude Law is always great” and been just as correct.

      • Buddy2Blogger said,

        LOL!

        Thanks for correcting me.

      • lokifire said,

        Always glad to help.

Leave a Reply

