Caleb Landry Jones, Nooooo!

January 13, 2012 at 1:03 pm (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , , )

Aw, man, I really don’t want to have to watch Contraband. I mean, it’s a paint-by-numbers action flick, which is the sort of thing I’ve come to expect from Mark Wahlberg and Kate Beckinsale.

And Giovanni Ribisi too, apparently.

But not from my boy Caleb Landry Jones! (He plays the brother-in-law that the bad smugglers are going to kill and then Mark Wahlberg, who is a good smuggler, has to save him and then he has to save his wife, and also there’s a bit where the bad guys put duct tape all over their faces as disguises or something. I guess it looks cool enough, but didn’t they think through to the duct tape removal part? Eh, that’s why they’re on the wrong side of the law, I guess.) (And, oh, crap, that was the talented and wonderful J.K. Simmons I saw in a brief scene. J.K. Simmons, Nooooo!)

Anyway, for some reason, I expect Caleb Landry Jones to only be in quality pieces of filmage, and I’m not exactly sure why that is, except for he’s been on Breaking Bad and Friday Night Lights, both of which I’ve heard are really good shows.

Also, he's just adorable in black and white, so maybe he should be in some arthouse films?

Also, why is he playing Kate Beckinsdale’s younger brother when it’s totally more believable he’s her kid from a previous marriage?

I'm not saying she's OLD, just that she's much, much older than Caleb Landry Jones.

Whatever. Anyway, as much as the presence of Caleb Landry Jones tempts me, I will probably watch Breaking Bad before I ever watch Contraband.

I do love me some award-winning actor Bryan Cranston.

3 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    Started watching Breaking Bad on Netflix this weekend. Pretty awesome so far, albeit highly disturbing. I seldom let “disturbing” ruin my enjoyment of something great, though đŸ™‚

  2. Abbie said,

    Caleb has two other movies coming out this year which sound waaay better (and more interesting) than Contraband: Byzantium (a Neil Jordan flick with the amazingly talented Saoirse Ronan) and Antiviral (a sci-fi movie from David Cronenberg’s son).

    So, yeah, I’d skip this one.

    • lokifire said,

      But are any of them black and white????

Leave a Reply

