Why did I like Sherlock (season 2, episode 1) a whole bunch?

January 23, 2012 at 2:36 pm (Randomosity) (, , , )

Ehhh, like you were expecting me to hate the second season of Sherlock or something, right?

That's just crazy talk.

Anyway, thanks to the advice of some of my lovely readers (who directed me to the Sherlock streaming videos), I was able to watch two and 1/3 episodes of Sherlock (Season 2) last night before falling asleep and drooling all over the computer keyboard.

So here’s my thoughts on the first episode, because I was still mostly awake by then.

A Scandal in Belgravia is, of course, based on the (in?)famous first Holmes Story: A Scandal in Bohemia. Featuring none other than Irene Adler, whom I have an irrational hatred for, thanks to everybody but Sir Arthur Conan Doyle trying to make her into Holmes’ romantic interest. So, knowing she lay ahead (hahahaha, that could totally be a double entrende, right?) (no, you can tell it’s supposed to be funny because I wrote out the sound of laughter), I went into the episode with mixed expectations.

And? I still hate Irene Adler. I’m irrational like that. But it sure was fun to watch her make Benedict Cumberbatch’s Sherlock squirm for a good hour and a half.

Stop standing so close to my TV boyfriend, you fictional hussy.

Anyhoos, my favorite bits were:

Moriarty’s ringtone is “Stayin’ Alive!” because of course it is. Right then, I fell a bit in love with Moriarty. Also, when he threatened to skin someone and wear them as shoes.

I wish we could see his feet in this photo, so we could tell who he's wearing as shoes with this snazzy suit.

“Irene Adler? She’s known as ‘The Woman,'” because nice callback to the original canon, you guys!

And, of course, everybody running around naked or in bedsheets, especially Benedict Cumberbatch, huzzah!

Heh. Heh heh heh heh. Heh.

Also, when Holmes asks Watson to punch him in the face and he won’t do it, so Holmes punches Watson and then Watson totally tries to kill him.

I think, in a real fight, Watson could maybe take Holmes. He's scrappy!

Ooh, ooh, and when Sherlock throws that guy out the window for assaulting Mrs. Hudson, like, when I saw that he’d hurt her, I was like “Kill him, Sherlock! Kill him!”, but I guess maiming is OK too.

Mrs. Hudson, I would maim anyone and anything if you would be my landlady.

And the bit with that poor, put-upon morgue girl who’s got the crush on Sherlock, like, how low is her self-esteem that she can’t just give up on that jerk already? (And I thought when he was saying all those awful, awful things about her lipstick and the present and then it turned out to be for him, that she was perhaps like, “OK, you know what? I’m finally done with him, it’s over, he’s a wanker,” but then he apologizes and kisses her on the cheek (!), so you know she was like, “Well, he does have his sweet side,” and she’s just ruined for life.) (Oh, and didn’t you just feel terrible for her when Sherlock identifies the nude body at the morgue and she says to Lestrade, “Why did he recognize her … from not her face?”)

I can totally sympathize, Molly. Let's go out for drinks and we can talk about how mean my pretend TV boyfriend is.

And Watson getting dumped by his girlfriend (Sherlock, trying to remember said girlfriend’s name: “Who came after the boring schoolteacher?” Girlfriend: “No one.” Sherlock: “Jeanette!”) after she tells him what a great boyfriend he is. “Sherlock is very lucky,” she says.

Plus, Mycroft Holmes’ elegant solution to exploding airplanes: Load ’em up with corpses! That’s brilliant! The terrorists think they’ve accomplished their whatever, it hides the British government’s inside sources and nobody gets blowed up who wasn’t dead to begin with! Everyone wins, except people who wanted their loved ones’ remains!

Also, the parade of potential clients and Watson’s ever-expanding blog: “The Geek Interpreter,” “The Speckled Blond” (Please, please tell me the third season’s going to have The Case of the Speckled Band, because that one is totally my favorite!)

And, of course, Benedict Cumberbatch in a deerstalker. I never knew that was a fetish of mine, but I guess I know now. So, thanks for that, BBC!

I'm going to need some alone time with this picture, you guys. I hope you don't mind.

Now when does the third season start?

6 Comments

  1. jennibennyfan said,

    *Counting the days till season 3 as well*
    I wonder what you’ll think of the third episode (The Reichenbach Fall). ^^
    Oh, and acording to Sue Vertue (producer), they’ll try to broadcast the 3rd season at the end of the year.

    • lokifire said,

      I watched it this weekend, and I liked it!
      It wasn’t quite what I was expecting, even though I’d been kind of spoiled in advance. I knew it would end like “The Final Problem,” but now I can’t wait to see how he faked that!
      (Obviously, with Molly’s help, of course …. But HOW? Squeeeeeeee!)

  2. Emmy Jay said,

    Lol. This made me laugh, though I do agree with you 😉 Just one thing though, I believe you’ve made a little error, if my memory serves me correctly. Wasn’t it Mycroft that Molly asked ‘How did he recognise her from… Not her face?’ to, and not Lestrade?

    • lokifire said,

      You know, I do believe you’re right.
      The sad thing is, I’ve watched this episode about five times since I wrote this review, and I still can’t remember for certain who was there with Molly!
      Sherlock was wearing a cute trench coat, though…. I can remember that.

  3. Scarlet said,

    3rd season COMING SOON I CAN’T WAIT maybe Sherlock will get married but probably not

    • lokifire said,

      Sherlock Holmes, married?
      Bite your tongue, Scarlet! That’s crazy talk!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

