Brutally assault my childhood some more, why don’t you?

February 10, 2012 at 5:48 pm (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , )

So, the other day, my father asked me: “Have you seen the ad for the new Star Wars movie?”

New Star Wars movie?” I cried. “New Star Wars movie? That’s just the prequels. In 3-D.”

"The prequels, Dad! We don't speak of the prequels! Remember the rule?"

“Oh,” he said.

“Yeah,” I said.

“You said that with so much derision,” he said.

Yeah,” I said.

(Note: Portions of this exchange are probably fictional, especially the part where my dad actually said something like “derision.”)

A thing I finally realized about George Lucas is that, deep down, he hates me and my childhood.

5 Comments

  1. greg said,

    George Lucas just makes me sigh. Now, he’s claiming Greedo ALWAYS shot first.

    • lokifire said,

      I saw that! That’s how I know Lucas hates my childhood.

      • Jamin said,

        What i don’t get is why Lucas hates his own creation so much. I mean, hating a bunch of random adult children is understandable, but wiping his ass with his masterpiece? That i don’t get.

      • greg said,

        All I can figure is that he’s uncomfortable with how it looks since he didn’t have CGI back then. Then, like all artists (including myself), he wants to change things, and heck, if I’m going to spruce a 30 year-old film up, I might as well fix some plot points. I don’t think he’s ever learned to move on with his work.

  2. Natsunekko said,

    I am torn.

    Oh, it’s a sure thing that I will not bother to see any of the three new movies again. Ever, if I can help it. But the idea of seeing the classic three in a theater again? With popcorn? YAY! I’ll even put up with 3D (which gives me headaches) to see young Harrison Ford up on a giant screen again.

    They ARE going to eventually get around to showing parts 4-6, right?

    (Just discovered your blog. Love it. We have so many similar tastes, I’m going to have to check out some of the unfamiliar/overlooked shows you mention–like Once Upon a Time, which I had just kinda assumed would suck rocks.)

Leave a Reply

