Everyone should read Planetary/Batman: Night on Earth

March 12, 2012 at 12:37 pm (Randomosity) (, , )

As I recently re-read my collection of Planetary, also known as One of the Best Damned Comic Books Ever!, I saved for last the great Planetary/Batman crossover: Night on Earth. Actually, I didn’t really save it for last. I read it first and then read it again after I’d read the others.

And then, just for good measure, I read it a third time!

Because it’s awesome, that’s why.

Because Jakita Wagner meets Batman (finally!) and she says (not word for word, but kind of paraphrase-y): “Sometimes beating a man dressed in a bat fetish costume is the only thing keeping me sane.”

And then they totally flirt.

God bless you, Jakita Wagner, the world would be a better place if more people would just admit that.

Also, because it’s a multiverse tale, you get to enjoy not just one, not just two, but several (shut up, math is hard) Batmans! Batmen? From the classic Bob Kane vision to Adam West as Batman to Frank Miller to a whole bunch of Batmen (Batmans?) I don’t even recognize, you’ve got a Batman for every discerning taste.

This version later goes on to say "Bat-apologies," which is awesome, and something I intend to incorporate into my daily lexicon.

Also, Elijah Snow is there, and Elijah Snow makes everything awesome.

Shortly after seeing this image, I took up smoking.

So, you should read Planetary/Batman: Night on Earth.

Especially if you’re everyone.

Don't make scary Batman sad.

3 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    Huh… I’m almost 100% certain that i have a copy of that, and that i’ve read it. But i don’t remember any of that. Guess it’s time to dig through all my boxes of comics and trades. Maybe. Holy crap that’s a ton of work.

    • lokifire said,

      Eh, just buy the reprint. It’s in hardcover!

  2. elcommutador said,

    Reblogged this on iPadejant, iPadeando, iPading and commented:
    Indeed…

Leave a Reply

