We’ll miss you, Mr. Bradbury

June 6, 2012 at 10:36 am (Randomosity) ()

A very exciting time for me was in high school, when we had to read Fahrenheit 451. “I’ll just bring my copy from home!” I exclaimed. “Should I bring my copies of Dandelion Wine and The October Country, too?”

You know, the reading copies, not the collecting copies. Those ones are just for gazing upon from afar.

“Oh, please, no!” cried the rest of the class.

“Well how ’bout The Martian Chronicles, or Something Wicked This Way Comes? I can guarantee you that on Halloween, I’m bringing The Halloween Tree to school and reading portions of it to unwary passersby.”

I know I exaggerate a lot about my high school years, but this is something I actually did.

“This is why you don’t have any friends!” cried the rest of the class.

“I don’t need friends because I have Ray Bradbury.”

… and maybe we’ll go clubbing this weekend or something.
That would be fun.

So, Mr. Bradbury, I’m very saddened to hear of your passing today, and will miss your talent and whatever opportunity I might have had to ask you personally what the hell “Come, and Bring Constance!” is on about.

Also, I’m a bit shocked to learn that you ever looked like this, because I’d always kind of assumed you’d been born with white hair and glasses.

1 Comment

  1. Jamin said,

    Hear, hear; amen; other assorted ways of saying I agree wholeheartedly.

Leave a Reply

