My shameful confession

July 20, 2012 at 11:09 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, )

Ahem!

(small voice)

I don’t wanna see Dark Knight Rises.

Also, is Dark Knight Rises some kind of pun that I just don’t quite get?

Not this weekend. Not ever. You see, I already saw the first two Christopher Nolan-helmed Batman movies, and I thought they were (small, wee, tiny little voice) boring.

So, yes, I’m a traitor to my geek-ish origins. Hell, I’m even un-American. I know it, you know it, we all know it. But if you sit back and admit it to yourself: Both Batman begins and The Dark Knight go on about 27 minutes too long, well past where you thought the movie should end, would end and rightfully was supposed to end, and you sat there and took it because Batman!

(Also, I hated that they wasted Two-Face, my favorite Batman villain. Gah! Such a terrible origin! Such a boring story arc!)

Not the actor we wanted, but the actor we deserved?
(Is that joke overplayed?)

Feel free to leave your hate in the comments section. I know I deserve it.

I’m just a little too heterosexual to be all excited about Anne Hathaway as Catwoman, I guess.

4 Comments

  1. Jamin said,

    I…I…I don’t know if we can be friends anymore… 😦

    • Jamin said,

      Just kidding. There’s plenty of other stuff we disagree on. You have the right to be wrong 🙂

      • lokifire said,

        I don’t know if I’m wrong, per se, just that my attention-deficit brain checks out of the Nolan Batman movies looooooong before they’re over.
        I mean, really, really, REALLY long before they’re over.
        Because they’re just too damned long. That’s what I’m saying.

  2. Travis Bierwagen said,

    I agree. Kind of. While I do enjoy the Nolan Bat-flicks, I don’t think they (or most of Nolan’s work) are as fantastic and “near perfect” as some people do. And when I heard RISES is 2 hours and 45 minutes long… it makes me hesitate wanting to go see it right away.

Leave a Reply

