On grave markers and fictional deaths

August 29, 2012 at 9:25 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now) ()

So, ever since I started working for a funeral home, I’ve found a thing that just drives me nuts is, when a fictional character dies, people go to visit their grave, like, days later,and there’s already a grave marker there.

“You want something like this? Sure, we’ll get that done instantaneously for you.”

And I’m all like: “Oh, psssh. Like, what, did the grave marker fairy put that there? I can’t suspend my disbelief for this! Those things take months to complete. We’ve got people who died years ago who still have the temporary markers on their graves! And don’t try to pretend like that’s a temporary marker! It’s clearly supposed to be carved.”

I go on to think: “And even if the marker was already there, like it was pre-purchased or something, it’s not like they’d be able to get the date of death in there that fast. Come on, people! Everybody knows this!”

And then I think: “Hmmm. Maybe it’s time to look for a new line of work.”

I’m still offering to be as cute as a bunny if someone’s willing to pay me to do it.

4 Comments

  1. jackie stone said,

    Hi again. Going back through your blogs (I just discovered you yesterday) and found this. It would be fantastic if markers could be delivered by a fairy…I’ve had to bury too many loved ones and couldn’t afford permanent markers for any of them. The cost of funerals really inhibit any “frills.” Secondly, I happen to adore bunnies, and think their cuteness should be free to anyone choosing the same.

    • lokifire said,

      Markers are pricey, aren’t they? I’ve already told my family to cremate me and toss the cardboard box out the window on the way home.

  2. Dana Caffrey said,

    How pricey is a grave marker? I just want to know so I could have an idea in case I just need one. So I guess cremation is much economical than a traditional burial.

    • lokifire said,

      Well, I’d say it’s cheaper to just not die altogether, but then you’ve got to pay for food and shelter and stuff.

Leave a Reply

