Also, The Words is a pretty boring name for a movie

September 7, 2012 at 9:19 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, )

So I don’t get the plot of The Words. In fact, I don’t get plagiarism in general. I feel like, as a writer, stealing someone else’s work is the same as admitting that they’re better than me, and I’m much too vain to do that.

Although, to make my argument moot, I did get this image from another web site.

But anyway, The Words is about Bradley Cooper, a writer who, apparently, sucks at writing and can’t get published and finds a mysterious satchel that’s got a manuscript in it. Desperate, he passes that manuscript off as his own, because he’s obviously never heard of self-publishing, I guess. I mean, seriously, Bradley Cooper the writer, we live in a world where the Twilight fan-fic 50 Shades of Grey is a bestseller. If you can’t get published, maybe you should consider a new career, like painting houses or maybe panhandling.

A thing I don’t understand is how I’ve somehow managed to learn Bradley Cooper’s name when I couldn’t remember “Brad Pitt” for, like, an entire decade.

Anyway additionally, the plagiarized work becomes really famous or something and then Olivia Wilde shows up to annoy me even more and then Bradley Cooper the writer’s terrible secret might get revealed, which of course it should, he stole someone else’s work and pretended it was his own, he should be shot, and then a bunch of stuff and YAWWWNNNNN.

So there you go. The Words looks kind of boring.

Poster’s cool, though.

Leave a Reply

