I’m afraid Cloud Atlas won’t think I’m cool

October 26, 2012 at 1:19 pm (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) ()

Cloud Atlas is a new movie by the Matrix Brothers, and it’s about how everyone’s lives are intertwined, past, present and future, and I don’t know about you, but it seems awfully pretentious. Like, if I were to show up in the theater to watch this film, it would judge me and find me lacking.

“Don’t you care about the intertwinedness?” the imaginary Cloud Atlas in my head says.

“I was BASED ON A BOOK,” says Cloud Atlas. “Were you BASED ON A BOOK?”

“No,” I say.

“Don’t you want to see Tom Hanks play a variety of characters?” continues the imaginary Cloud Atlas.

“Oh, God, no!”

Does he at least keep his clothes on?

“What are you? Some kind of poser?”

And then I’d have to admit that I didn’t actually even like the FIRST Matrix movie, and then Cloud Atlas would never let me hang out with the cool kids while they talk philosophy ever again.

It would probably think even less of me if it knew I keep accidentally calling it “Atlas Cloud.”

3 Comments

  1. Michael Ampersant said,

    Great, Lokfire, Great (“At least I was based on a book…”). I wasn’t really enthusiastic about the first Matrix and found the second one awful, and the “philosophic” discussion around it an orgy of sheer posturing.

    Could I reblog this post on my blog (“Lokfire from Hollywood Hates Me writes”…(with links)?)

    • lokifire said,

      You are more than welcome to re-blog me. Thank you for liking my post so much!
      And there’s no need to be so formal! You can call me Loki if you like.

Leave a Reply

