Huzzah for evil Benedict Cumberbatch

May 17, 2013 at 10:22 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , , )

Hey, guys! Some movie opens this weekend and the modern Sherlock Holmes is a bad guy in it and I want to see it sooooo bad because is there anything hotter than a villainous Benedict Cumberbatch?

I submit that: No. No, there is not.

I submit that: No. No, there is not.

Seriously, though, the new Star Trek movie looks really awesome in certain spots, like the parts that have my TV boyfriend, Evil Sherlock Holmes, and also the parts that have Simon Pegg because SQUEEEE SIMON PEGG!

To reiterate: SQUEEEE! SIMON PEGG!

To reiterate: SQUEEEE SIMON PEGG!

Wait, that wasn’t very serious at all.

The trailer, which I linked to above for your clicking pleasure, is all overwrought with oh my god what will New Captain Kirk do and his obsession will kill us all and it’s like who can get behind a guy with eyebrows like that, you know?

"My eyebrows will stop your terrorist ways, Evil Sherlock Holmes."

“My eyebrows will stop your terrorist ways, Evil Sherlock Holmes.”

And then Evil Holmes swoops in all awesomely, and I totally can’t go see this movie in the theaters because I’ll be rooting for the terrorist to win, which makes me profoundly unAmerican, I guess.

But you guys tell me how it is, and then tell me when the Internet makes a version that cuts out all the non-Benedict Cumberbatch scenes, and I’ll watch that one.

I guess they can leave in the Simon Pegg scenes too.

I guess they can leave in the Simon Pegg scenes too.

9 Comments

  1. brikhaus said,

    LOL! As far as how it is: eh, not good. Definitely a rental/Netflix. Cumberbatch emoted SO HARD in this movie, it was crazy.

    • lokifire said,

      Oh no! And I’d actually made plans to go see it on Memorial Day.
      Crap.

      • brikhaus said,

        Sorry! If you’re a fan, you should still go see it. Just expect cheesy acting!

      • lokifire said,

        Well, I’m a fan of Sherlock Holmes….

      • Jamin said,

        Ehh, I thought Cumberbatch’s acting was ok. Most of the main cast were pretty awful, but considering who Cumberbatch was portraying, he pulled it off with admirable restraint. Honestly, the movie’s biggest faults were it’s extreme predictability, Abrams’s patented death-by-lens-flare, and some annoying problems with ignoring not only real science but established canon science (e.g. using phasers while travelling at warp speed). Aside from that, it was quite enjoyable. I mean, who the hell ever watched Star Trek for its acting (Patrick Stewart aside)?

      • Jamin said,

        Ughhh… minus the apostrophe in my first “its.”

      • lokifire said,

        Awwww, and that’s why you’re one of my favorites.

  2. Jedaqia said,

    You guys are kidding right? IMHO, This movie is one of the best movie of the year. Clearly the box office proved that. And BC is brilliant! He makes you forget this is the same guy that did Sherlock.

    • lokifire said,

      Eh, it wasn’t that great, but Benedict Cumberbatch was brilliant, and insanely hot as Evil Sherlock Holmes in Space.

Leave a Reply

