Insert clever post title about clones here

June 7, 2013 at 12:14 pm (Randomosity) (, , )

Orphan Black is a television show about clones.

No alternate universes here!

No alternate universes here!

Oh, sure, in the first couple of episodes, they don’t exactly spell it out for you, so you could be forgiven for thinking at first that some woman has just stolen the identity of her long-lost twin, but then more and more clones show up, and then they do spell it out for you, so there you go.

Orphan Black is a television show about clones.

Our main clone (played by Tatiana Maslany, as are all the clones, which has got to save serious money on the casting side of things) is Sarah, who is a jerk. Really! The show opens with her bitching about how somebody doesn’t want her to see the daughter that she abandoned almost a year ago and then she sees her look-alike commit suicide right before her eyes, and her first reaction is to steal the dead woman’s identity.

So many clones! (OK, just four.)

So many clones!
(I know four doesn’t seem like a lot, but how many clones do YOU have?)

But despite her basic horribleness, you kind of end up rooting for Sarah, because she is willing to do things like swallow liquid soap and have kitchen-counter sex just to keep her identity theft secret. That’s commitment!

Then more clones start showing up: The redheaded German, who coughs up blood and then gets shot in the brains; Alison, the soccer mom, who is having a slow nervous breakdown that leads her to an awful act (non-act?) by the end of the season; Cosima, dreadlocked science-y clone; Helena, the crazy Jesus Freak murder-y clone; and then the new one at the end of the season that I already forgot her name.

I’d heard some really good things about Orphan Black. I’m sorry, let me rephrase that, lest you think I actually talk to people. I read some really good things online about Orphan Black, so I thought I’d give it a try. After watching the first episode, I was like, “meh, that’s not as good as the Internet says,” and then I watched the second episode, and then the third and then the fourth and then the season was over.

It's a brisk 10 episodes long, so: pretty easy to watch in one sitting, three sittings tops.

It’s a brisk 10 episodes long, so: pretty easy to watch in one sitting, three sittings tops.

There were some really great moments in it, like when Helena cuts off some guy’s tail (don’t ask), or when Sarah’s foster brother plays gay bartender at Alison’s neighborhood potluck, and then there’s some ridiculous stuff, like Sarah’s special little girl getting hit by a car (Eh, spoiler alert, even though you’ll totally see it coming) and the part where Helena cuts off some guy’s tail (don’t ask)….

"Seriously. Don't ask."

“Seriously. Don’t ask.”

And while the show itself didn’t give me the warm fuzzies like Fringe did, it is a nice science fiction-y diversion and, like Fringe and Battlestar Galactica before it, it’s easy to forget that’s the same actor playing all those roles.

Terrible wigs aside.

Terrible wigs aside.

Anyway, I guess what I’m saying is go ahead and watch Orphan Black already.

Yup, that's what I'm saying, all right.

Yup, that’s what I’m saying, all right.

2 Comments

  1. Pat West said,

    Tried it, was intrigued at first, but then rapidly lost interest. Now “Defiance,” that’s a whole ‘nother story. Find myself looking forward to it on a par with looking forward to “Battlestar Gallactica.”

    • lokifire said,

      I haven’t seen that one yet.
      And, yeah, at first I was like “Cool!” and then I was like “Meh” and then I finished the whole season, so there must be something addictive about Orphan Black.

Leave a Reply

