I can’t believe I’m getting sick of zombie movies

June 21, 2013 at 11:27 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , )

It was just a few short years ago that I was totally excited about Dead Snow, the flick with Nazi zombies. Actually, maybe it was a bit longer than a few short years, because stuff that I swear happened, like, two weeks ago, turns out to have happened, actually, a decade ago, because time flies when you’re having aging, I guess.

Four years ago, I still thought zombies were cool.

Four years ago, I still thought zombies were cool.

And now we’ve got World War Z. Starring Brad Pitt, an actor I still don’t get why people think he’s hot.

Maybe it's the fabulous hair?

Maybe it’s the fabulous hair?

Now, I’ve never read World War Z, so I can’t say that the movie looks terrible because it’s not like the book, but I can say that the movie looks terrible because GOOD LORD HAVE YOU SEEN THOSE TRAILERS? Like, “Yeah, let’s focus on Brad Pitt’s boring family, because that’s what people go to zombie movies to see, right? Families?”

These guys: "Yes."

These guys: “Yes.”

Also, as much as I admire the usage of fast zombies (see: Days Later, 28), these zombies are pretty obviously CGI, which kind of defeats the whole purpose of a zombie movie, which is to show off your awesome makeup skillz and to parody whatever social injustice zombies were supposed to parody.

It was consumerism, right? Consumerism or communism, for sure.

It was consumerism, right? Consumerism or communism, for sure.

You know, back before they were HOLY CRAP ZOMBIES EVERYWHERE WHEN WILL IT END.

Pile of CGI Zombies: "Never."

Pile of CGI Zombies: “Never.”

2 Comments

  1. brikhaus said,

    A single “realistic” zombie stuck in the basement (e.g. Evil Dead) = totally scary.

    A horde of CGI zombies running at you (e.g. World War Z) = totally stupid.

    • lokifire said,

      And don’t forget, Brik!
      Bruce Campbell = a god

Leave a Reply

