Your bumper sticker is lame, and makes me sad

September 9, 2013 at 11:45 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

Lately, I’ve been seeing a lot of bumper stickers that I disagree with. Which is fine, because people are allowed their opinions, even if they’re silly because they’re not exactly the same as mine. But I saw one the other day that really annoyed me:

“We believe in marriage.”

Like, yea! I also believe in marriage! It’s easy to believe in a thing that exists!

Marriage: A thing that has existed for centuries, if not millennia.

Marriage: A thing that has existed for centuries, if not millennia.

But that’s not what you’re trying to say, is it?

What you’re trying to say is this:

“We believe in not allowing homosexuals to get married.”

So get right out there and let your homophobic flag fly! Don’t try to hide it under “We believe in marriage.” That’s just cheating.

Also, maybe try being a little less close-minded?

Also, maybe try being a little less close-minded?

1 Comment

  1. Jamin said,

    See, what bugs me most about that whole “Defense of Marriage” fight, is that it just makes no bleeding sense whatsoever. I’d be the first to admit that I find the concept of homosexuality distasteful. But I realize that I don’t need to like it, because it doesn’t affect my life whatsoever. If homosexuals want to marry, how does that harm me in any way? Then there are the attempted economic arguments, which are just so incredibly disingenuous they make me laugh. Really? Extending tax/insurance benefits to same-sex spouses is going to bankrupt companies and the government? There’s also the slippery slope arguments, which would be idiotic even if it weren’t a logical fallacy. It could just as easily be extended the other direction: deny homosexuals the right to marry, and next they’ll forbid uggos to marry (which would definitely be bad for me).

    Anyhooo… sorry for the long-winded rant. Just a pet peeve of mine. Idiocy as extreme as the “don’t let gays marry” group just really gets under my skin.

Leave a Reply

