The Flukeman liveth!

September 25, 2013 at 1:57 pm (Whatever happened to ...?) (, , , , , , )

After seeing Breaking Bad kick some Emmy butt again, I was very happy for my second-favorite X-Files writer, Vince Gilligan, who has gone on to create a critically-acclaimed, fan-beloved TV show that I have never seen.

It is in the A-#1 position on my list of things to watch that my parents would never approve of.

It is in the A-#1 position on my list of things to watch that my parents would never approve of.

And then I thought: But what of my favorite X-Files writer, Darin Morgan?

Well, here’s what of him.

According to Wikipedia, Knower of All Things Editable by the Public, Darin Morgan was born in Syracuse, New York, and then immediately went to college. Actually, probably some stuff happened in between birth and college, but Wikipedia doesn’t want to bore you with that crap, so I guess I won’t either. Anyhow, at college (specifically, the film program at Loyola Marymount University), Morgan co-wrote a six-minute short film that led to a three-picture deal with TriStar. I basically copied and pasted that out of Wikipedia, if you were wondering. Also, oddly enough, there’s no mention of any TriStar films on his IMdb page or on Wikipedia, so I don’t know what happened there.

Don't look so smug, you flying horse. It's your loss.

Don’t look so smug, you flying horse. It’s your loss.

After writing a few screenplays that didn’t see the light of the big screen, a stroke of luck finally came to Darin Morgan, in the form of an invitation from his brother Glen (one-half of my third-favorite X-Files writing team of Morgan & Wong) to play a hideous mutated fluke monster on an episode of the X-Files that I only watched once because ewwww, hideous mutated fluke monster. Darin Morgan’s account of the experience leads me to believe that playing a hideous mutated fluke monster is worse than watching one onscreen, because he was stuck in that costume 20 hours a day during filming. Gross.

After his acting experience, Darin Morgan went on to write one of the best episodes of the X-Files ever: Humbug. He then wrote another of the best episodes of the X-Files ever, and also of TV ever, The Final Repose of Clyde Bruckman. All you young kids who have never watched the X-Files need to watch that episode right now, right away, because it is amazing.

"Why do you keep looking at me when you talk about dying of autoerotic asphyxiation, psychic guy?" "Oh, no reason."

“Why do you keep looking at me when you talk about people dying of auto-erotic asphyxiation, psychic guy?”
“Oh, no reason.”

He also wrote the very excellent War of the Coprophages, because “Cockroaches” is just too easy to spell, I guess, and then the hilarious and awesome and superb Jose Chung’s From Outer Space, which you also need to watch right now, right away, because Mulder shrieks like a girl.

I should totally read that book.

I should totally read that book.

He also wrote part of Quagmire, but wasn’t credited, except everybody knew the one part with the great dialogue was totally him, and then he disappeared from the X-Files forever.  (Oh, except for playing a character in Small Potatoes, which I always forget, because Darin Morgan in person is less godlike than I imagine him to be.) Vince Gilligan showed up around that time to carry on the torch of awesomeness, but it wasn’t quite the same.

What do you mean Darin Morgan is a mere mortal?

What do you mean Darin Morgan is a mere mortal?

In the meantime, Darin Morgan was busy writing away for Millennium, which was scary and depressing and got cancelled before I could get past my fear of Lance Henriksen.

GAHHHHHH! I mean, no, I'm fine now.

GAHHHHHH!
I mean, no, I’m fine now.

After the cancellation of Millennium, Morgan helped out on the Kolchak: The Night Stalker remake, which got cancelled almost as soon as it aired, and on Bionic Woman, which fell to the same fate.

But then — and I feel incredibly stupid for forgetting this, because I remember seeing his name in the credits and going “whooo! No wonder this show is awesome!” — Morgan worked as a consulting producer on Fringe.

Yea, Fringe!

Yea, Fringe!

But Fringe got cancelled too, because the TV gods hate nerds, so what’s Morgan been up to since then?

Well, he and brother Glen worked together on Tower Prep, a live-action drama for Cartoon Network, “The Network that’s Forgotten What Its Name Means.”

Although not as badly as ol' "Music Television" here.

Although not as badly as ol’ “Music Television” here.

Since then … ummm, I don’t know. Modelling clothes for today’s modern hideous mutated fluke monster? Seriously, though, someone hire this guy to write things, right away, all the time, because he is the best.

"I could be more awesome, but then the rest of you would be reduced to cinders in my presence."

“I could be more awesome, but then the rest of you would be reduced to cinders in my presence.”

8 Comments

  1. Mick said,

    New show on A&E this year, called “Those Who Kill.” Glen Morgan is the show runner, and Darin’s written an episode. Episode #5, I think.

    🙂

    • lokifire said,

      Oooooooh, thanks for sharing!

  2. RtWatcher said,

    Watching a series of BBC America called INTRUDERS from Glen Morgan and Darin writes episode 7… More Darin Morgan, please!!!

    • lokifire said,

      Oooh, sounds good! Thanks for the heads up!

  3. El Mondello said,

    Well, after tonight’s episode of XFiles (2/1/16), it appears Darin Morgan just wrote one of the WORST episodes ever.

    • lokifire said,

      Awww, man, that’s terrible. I’m glad I’m not watching the new X-Files, then.

    • Mick said,

      Pfffft. According to most of the reviews I’ve read (and according to me!), it’s the best episode of the revival so far.

      • lokifire said,

        Awww, man, that’s great! I’m sad I’m not watching the new X-Files, then.

Leave a Reply

