All the annoyance points to me!

October 4, 2013 at 10:04 am (Randomosity)

My mother is reading a book right now that, she tells me, advises you to drop all your prejudices.

Having wasted away my misspent youth at rock concerts, I replied: “Why would they want me to jot down my prejudices?”

"Eh?"

“Eh?”

“Drop,” she said, louder. “DROP your prejudices.”

“Oh. Well, why would they want me to do that?”

"Does it count if, when I had to read Pride and Prejudice, I disliked it so much I dropped it?"

“Does it count if, when I had to read Pride and Prejudice, I disliked it so much I dropped it?”

“Because it’s about a Muslim couple and all the difficulties they’ve faced after 9-11.”

“But I’m not prejudiced against Muslims, so why would I need to drop my prejudices?”

My mother, beginning to be irritated: “Well, then, I guess it’s for the 85 percent of people who are.”

“But they wouldn’t read that book.”

“They might!”

“Sure, Mom. ‘You know, I’ve been looking for a book that will change my opinion on those people I hate irrationally, and this looks like just the ticket.'”

My mother, giving me the look. “I don’t know why I even bother.”

"I should have left you to be raised by wolves when I had the chance!"

“I should have left you to be raised by wolves when I had the chance!”

“Me either!”

Also, I'm so sure our library has books that want us to drop our prejudices, but nothing on Depression-Era Crime?

Also, I’m so sure our library has books that want us to drop our prejudices, but nothing on Depression-Era Crime?

2 Comments

  1. brikhaus said,

    I’m pretty sure that if someone irrationally hated Muslims and read a book about their trials and tribulations, they would probably relish it and not actually get the true message.

    • lokifire said,

      Yeah, that sounds about right.

Leave a Reply

