Christmas letters are stupid, anyway

December 10, 2013 at 10:57 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

So when my mother asked me to proofread her Christmas letter this year, I couldn’t help but notice that in comparison to the entire paragraph about my brother, the only reference to me, a sentence that read: “My daughter and granddaughter still live in town,” was maybe a little lacking.

I mean, at that point, she might as well have said: "My daughter sucks and I'm deeply ashamed of her."

I mean, maybe don’t ask the person you’re ashamed of to proofread your letter, then?

6 Comments

  1. Michael Ampersant said,

    Did this really happen?

    • lokifire said,

      Yes.

      • Michael Ampersant said,

        This is really sad. It’s not funny at all. I’m really sorry — Michael

      • lokifire said,

        Awww, thanks.
        My mother’s never been particularly subtle about her favoritism, but this one really pissed me off.

  2. markbrandgroup said,

    MAYBE if you ‘proofread it’ digitally (have her forward it, rather than print it out?) you can make a few, kind of, little, corrections?

    • lokifire said,

      I pointed out to her that I actually did some stuff this year, so she begrudgingly put in a couple of sentences about me.
      Also, she sucks at using commas and apostrophes. I should’ve added that, too.

Leave a Reply

