Girl toy or boy toy?

January 22, 2014 at 10:56 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now) (, )

I don’t really enjoy eating fast food, but I know someone who does, so every once in a while, I treat that little someone to a Happy Meal (TM) from McDonald’s (probably also (TM), but maybe (R) or (C)).

So last night, I ordered a kids meal for my little someone and, joy of joys, McDonald’s currently has Adventure Time toys (none of the lady characters FOR SOME REASON, but that’s a whole other story), so I said to the manager working the register: “We’d like an Adventure Time toy with that Happy Meal, please.”

"Look, I know it'll be a cheap piece of crap, but my daughter and I enjoy Adventure Time, so it's that or give me an extra dessert."

“Look, I know it’ll be a cheap piece of crap, but my daughter and I enjoy Adventure Time, so it’s that or give me an extra dessert.”

Two seconds later, she looked up at me and asked: “Would you like a boy toy or a girl toy?”

“Well, since girls like Adventure Time, I assume the Adventure Time toy I requested is a GIRL TOY.”

“Uhhhh,” said the manager.

“ANYWAY, I would like the ADVENTURE TIME toy, which can be played with by GIRLS AND BOYS alike.”

"Except for a Marceline the Vampire Queen toy, because she probably has cooties."

“Except for a Marceline the Vampire Queen toy, because she probably has cooties.”

Later, the receipt said I’d chosen a “truck toy,” so I guess trucks like Adventure Time too.

As well they should, because Adventure Time is an excellent cartoon, filled with great characters, including (ick) girls.

As well they should, because Adventure Time is an excellent cartoon, filled with great characters, including — ick — girls.

2 Comments

  1. Jeremy said,

    Some of my Facebook friends just got into a long rant/discussion about whether Adventure Time is a show for girls or a show for boys. I gather some people think it is a boy show, because the protagonist is a boy, but others dispute this, pointing out that there are more girls characters on the show as a whole. Clearly it appeals to everyone, which seems to me to be the bigger accomplishment.

    • lokifire said,

      Yeah, I always assumed it was a show for people.
      (I just had to be a smartass to the stupid McDonald’s employee, though.)

Leave a Reply

