I guess this shouldn’t surprise me

March 13, 2014 at 10:44 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

So, I was reading an article today about some 16-year-old boy at one of the local high schools doing a study on hate crimes in our town, and he was surprised to learn that “it wasn’t just the Jewish community that was targeted, but also other races and people of different sexual orientations.”

Like, wow, it must be nice to grow up as a straight, white American male, I guess.

"I've never been discriminated against, so I didn't realize that it happened to people who aren't like me."

“I’ve never been discriminated against, so I didn’t realize that it happened to people who aren’t like me.” — Privileged Teenager

3 Comments

  1. michaelampersant said,

    Can I add something to this:

    I grew up as a white German male. And then I traveled with John, my black lover through America, by car, and we arrive at this off-road diner, somewhere in eastern California, on our way to San Francisco. We have a hot dog, then return to the car. In the meantime, a bunch of Hells Angels has arrived, stepped off their bikes, and are now facing my black boyfriend. He’s the only African-American around, by a wide perimeter. The bikers face him, as a group faces distorted. I had never in my life seen a collective display of sheer hatred, expressed by nothing but body language.

    We somehow make it back to the car and off the parking lot. John was convinced they would follow us and kill him.

    • lokifire said,

      Yikes! That’s pretty scary. I’m glad you guys made it out of that situation okay!!

  2. David Prentice said,

    On the plus side, at least they didn’t start goose-stepping to Lili Marlene…how would you have coped, liebling!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fWpANSpqtEk

Leave a Reply

