Mutants and time travel and young Magneto, oh my!

May 23, 2014 at 10:02 am (The Movie I'm not Seeing this Weekend) (, , , , , )

Wow.

So I guess I didn’t realize it was already opening weekend for X-Men: Days of Future Past, because didn’t Godzilla just open last weekend? That seems like a lot of geek properties all at once, like, jeez, maybe space it out so we can save up our movie-going money, ’cause movies are expensive.

Ha, and they're standing in the shape of an X because people who design movie posters are all like: "Subtlety? I eat subtlety for breakfast."

Ha, and they’re standing in the shape of an X because people who design movie posters are all like: “Subtlety? I eat subtlety for breakfast.”

Anyway, it already is opening weekend, because if you’re going to spend a holiday weekend with your family, you might as well spend it at the movies, where you don’t have to talk with them.

"Sooo ... you guys hate being around me as much as I hate being around you? That's good to know."

“Sooo … you guys hate being around me as much as I hate being around you? That’s good to know.”

Especially because holy cats look at all the mutants and Wolverine is time-traveling for some reason (truth-telling time here: I love comic books, but I’ve never been big on the superhero ones, so I didn’t even know it was supposed to be Kitty Pryde doing the time-traveling until I read complaints on other blogs) and Michael Fassbender is saying things and so is Ian McKellen, and also Patrick Stewart and the guy who plays young Patrick Stewart is there and — oooh, is that Blink? It is! It is Blink! — and Sentinels blowing shit up but good!

I do know enough about superhero comics to know that she's like a lady Nightcrawler.

I do know enough about superhero comics to know that Blink’s like a lady Nightcrawler.

Anyway, don’t bother me this weekend, I’ve got some immense geeking out to do.

Also some deep, girlish sighing.

Also some deep, girlish sighing.

3 Comments

  1. brikhaus said,

    So, did you see it? What did you think?

    • lokifire said,

      I didn’t! My daughter promised she’d go with me, but she reneged! And I haven’t gone to the movies alone since the time I went and some creepy dude sat right next to me in an otherwise empty theater. “He looks familiar,” I thought to myself. Later, I realized why: I had just seen his photo submitted to the paper with the crime stats as the week’s “Most Wanted.”
      Of course, when I explained this to my daughter, she said: “So you want him to sit by me instead?”
      Smart little poop for a 10-year-old.

      But did you see it? Was it good? Did Magneto do stuff? I’ll bet he did stuff.

  2. brikhaus said,

    Yeah, Magneto did stuff.

Leave a Reply

