Digging too deeply: Eye of the Tiger

September 16, 2014 at 10:42 am (I Overanalyze Song Lyrics) (, , , , , )

A song I really dislike right now is that Katy Perry song, Roar. But when she gets to the part where she says she’s got the eye of the tiger, all of a sudden, I’m the star of an ’80s movie. Usually I’m plucky. Probably I’m a dude. There’ll definitely be fighting. And, of course, the soundtrack, will be … Survivor.

The best thing about mullets is getting to laugh at them now that it's not the '80s anymore.

The best thing about mullets is getting to laugh at them now that it’s not the ’80s anymore.

Rising up, back on the street
Did my time, took my chances
Went the distance, now I’m back on my feet
Just a man and his will to survive

This is pretty straightforward. I’ve obviously spent some time in the hospital, probably with a broken spine, but now I’m able to walk again. I’m back on the street, I’m going the distance (like Cake!), and I’ve got the will to survive.

So many times it happens too fast
You trade your passion for glory
Don’t lose your grip on the dreams of the past
You must fight just to keep them alive

*Sniff* It’s so true! Sometimes I do trade my passion for glory. Then I’ve got all this glory and no passion! That’s why, now that I’m out of the hospital, probably walking with a cane, or maybe one of those walkers that you have to put the split tennis balls on the bottom so they don’t scrape up the floor, I have to keep my dreams alive!

Yup. It's just me and my will to survive.

Yup. It’s just me and my will to survive.

It’s the eye of the tiger
It’s the thrill of the fight
Rising up to the challenge of our rival
And the last known survivor
Stalks his prey in the night
And he’s watching us all with the eye of the tiger

Holy crap, there’s a tiger watching me! And I can’t flee very fast, because of my walker! I feel something, and it might by the thrill of the fight, and rising up to the challenge of my rival, but it’s possibly fear! Because I am being watched with the eye of the tiger!

STOP LOOKING AT MEEEEEE!

STOP LOOKING AT MEEEEEE!

Face to face, out in the heat
Hanging tough, staying hungry
They stack the odds still we take to the street
For the kill with the skill to survive

OK, this doesn’t even make sense. I have no idea what I’m doing here. I was staying hungry, and then I took to the street for the kill with the skill to survive. Can anyone explain that? What is the kill with the skill to survive? Is it some kind of wily deer?

"Probably not." -- this deer

“Probably not.” — this deer

It’s the eye of the tiger
It’s the thrill of the fight
Rising up to the challenge of our rival
And the last known survivor
Stalks his prey in the night
And he’s watching us all with the eye of the tiger

Ohhhh, I guess it’s the eye of the tiger.
Seriously, though, does this make sense?

Rising up, straight to the top
Had the guts, got the glory
Went the distance, now I’m not gonna stop
Just a man and his will to survive

Wait, I think I’m a boxer? Or I’m in that Stephen King story that was made into a movie? No, the one with Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Now I've got my will to survive AND this godawful jumpsuit.

Now I’ve got my will to survive AND this godawful jumpsuit.

It’s the eye of the tiger
It’s the thrill of the fight
Rising up to the challenge of our rival
And the last known survivor
Stalks his prey in the night
And he’s watching us all with the eye of the tiger

The eye of the tiger
The eye of the tiger
The eye of the tiger
The eye of the tiger

Dammit, Katy Perry.

Dammit, Katy Perry.

Leave a Reply

