Rejection, rejection

September 17, 2014 at 9:53 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now)

So, lately I’ve been focusing on writing short fiction (which isn’t something I’ve focused on since college), and this weekend, I got TWO REJECTIONS ON THE SAME DAY.

When I voiced my unhappiness to my daughter, I mentioned that I had turned around and submitted one of the rejected stories to another magazine.

“At least you’re following your dreams, Mom,” she said in an attempt to cheer me up. “You believe in your dreams, even if no one else does.”

So, yeah, now I kind of feel like that jerk that shows up on American Idol to suck. Thanks, honey!

So, yeah, now I kind of feel like that jerk that shows up on American Idol to suck. Thanks, honey!

2 Comments

  1. michaelampersant said,

    Hi Cathy: I received the notification of this post right after a rejection from an outfit called Quotable…so comforting…”Thank you for giving us a chance to read your piece ‘A Hitchhiker’s Guide to Gay Sex.’ Unfortunately, it is not fur us.” — This is the first time I get a rejection letter whose key phrase is: “it is not for us.” What do you think? Did you ever get a “not for us” letter? Cheers…hows life…Michael

    • lokifire said,

      I get TONS OF THOSE. They’re nice, I think, because they’re saying, “hey, this isn’t terrible, it’s just not something we can use.”
      Or maybe they actually mean, “hey, this is terrible, but we’re trying to be nice.”

Leave a Reply

