A to Z is exactly as terrible as I thought it would be

October 3, 2014 at 10:44 am (Stuff that Bugs Me Right Now) (, , , )

So a TV show I’ve been wanting to avoid ever since I first started to see commercials for it is A to Z. It’s about a guy whose name starts with an A, and he falls in love with a girl whose name starts with a Z, and it’s destiny, because she was the girl in a silver dress at a concert he went to. That is exactly the romantic comedy I would not want to see if it was a movie, and that goes even moreso for a TV show, because those tend to keep going and going, long after they should be canceled.

But with a conceit like using the alphabet, the show can only be 26 episodes long.

But with a conceit like using the alphabet, the show can only be 26 episodes long. Right?

I was happily looking forward to never watching it EVER, but then I got home late from work last night, then I exploded dinner, so then I had to start dinner over, and then by the time I got done cleaning up after dinner, my damn family had turned on the television and it was on and I was too damn tired from wiping hamburger meat off the microwave to do anything other than sit there and stare listlessly at the TV screen.

The lesson is: When defrosting meat, remember to always select the defrost option or there will be trouble.

The lesson is: When defrosting meat, remember to always select the defrost option or there will be trouble.

And there was A to Z, just sucking merrily along.

If you’ve seen any of the previews, it is exactly the show you thought it would be, and I’m not going to go into it right now, suffice to say if romcoms are your thing, you’ll like it, and if you feel the way I do about romcoms, then, for the love of all that’s good, tell your family next time they can clean up after dinner, you’re watching a Lon Chaney movie and that’s that.

See, he's an armless knife thrower, but he really does have arms, but then they get amputated and ... look, just shut up and let me watch this, okay?

See, he’s an armless knife thrower, but he really does have arms, but then they get amputated and … look, just shut up and let me watch this, okay?

But the thing I did want to bring up is this: Katey Sagal, if you owe somebody some money, I’m willing to help you out! I’ll give you some of my money! I’ll petition Sons of Anarchy for your better pay! Whatever it takes! Just, please, stop wasting your god-given voice artist talents on being the narrator for this show.

Please.

... You know what? Katey Sagal, you just do whatever you want, you're so awesome.

… You know what? Katey Sagal, you just do whatever you want, you’re so awesome.

 

2 Comments

  1. brikhaus said,

    Is this a How I Met Your Mother rip-off or what? It’s got “the mother” plus it has an older female narrating it. The only thing that’s different, I suppose, is that they break up in the end (supposedly).

    You know, I kind of like the idea you brought up. A TV series showing the couple getting together and then breaking up, solely confined to 26 episodes. That could make for a great comedic mini-series. But you know, at least in the U.S., such a thing would never happen.

    • lokifire said,

      It could be a How I Met Your Mother ripoff; the romantic comedy is just absolutely not my genre, so the only thing I know about that show for sure is it has Logan Echolls’ sister from Veronica Mars.
      Sigh.
      Fine, it has Willow from Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Leave a Reply

